>Principles for Reviews

>
Principles? Why write about principles as I have survived a whole year of blogging about crime fiction without having any?

The main reason is that recently publishers have begun contacting me, offering me review examples of books. Wonderful, but also slightly daunting. Do my reviews really live up to this kind of commitment and responsibility?

Well, I have reached the conclusion that if they don´t think so, they could have contacted someone else. Yet, here are my lofty principles for what they are worth:

1) though no one can demand it from a Danish citizen, I will make it clear whether my books are library books, gifts/prizes, bought by myself or given to me by the author or publisher. (I may have a few on my TBR which I don´t remember the source of, but these few have certainly not come from authors or publishers).

2) I have thought about it, but I don´t want to try to live up to any professional rules or conventions for book reviews. My reviews are mine, and my main aim is to tell my readers what I liked and what I didn´t like about the book.

3) honesty is very important to me. I believe my faithful readers come back month after month because they see my reviews as a reliable guide to MY taste, and not sales speeches. And if it is impossible for me to find anything to like about a book, I may refrain from reviewing it.

Have I forgotten something???

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in review principles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

