Monkey Justice

My tough fight to conquer my TBR continues, and since May I have only bought ten books. Not bad, eh?

But now and then you just should give in to temptation – or you will end up with NO BOOKS AT ALL! – so when I read this post I knew it was time to hit the button.

As if anyone could resist this title and the brilliant cover… (And Patti has promised that there are some stories which are not too dark for a wimp like me).

 

 

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in American, Patti Abbott, short story. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Monkey Justice

  1. I am impressed with your restraint.

  2. Petty Witter says:

    Well done, I’m also on a self imposed book buying ban but when our local library is selling off ex-library books at only 25p I find it so difficult to resist.

    Glad to hear you are also a bit of a wimp when it comes to scary …… and that cover looks scary.

  3. Margot Kinberg says:

    Dorte – I admire your restraint – I really do! But I am so glad you gave in to Monkey Justice. Patti Abbott is a very talented writer, and I’m glad her work is getting a bit of the attention it deserves.

  4. Barbara says:

    I can’t imagine you being a wimp. I’m surprised.

  5. Kelly says:

    Wow, that’s a pretty imposing cover!

    My TBR could probably keep me busy for years. Then again, I’ve been building it up for years! I’m going to seriously work on it in 2012.

  6. Bernadette: I have been amazingly good, but I am not sure I´ll be able to keep it up much longer.
    Tracy: 25 p is an extremely strong argument.
    Margot: and Patti does so much for budding authors which is an extra reason to suppert her.
    Barbara: I am not really scared of crime or gore, but if the overall atmosphere is dark and gloomy, it gets to me.
    Kelly: good luck! Once I stopped browsing Awesome Books for second-hand books it helped a lot 😉

  7. Great cover! Yes, it’s hard to keep from buying books!

  8. I suffer from the same thing as you. I try to read as much as I can, but for some reason, I get a high from purchasing new books. The cover on that book looks great though.

  9. Ann says:

    I’m very much a wimp too. This is not a good season for me with goblins and witches and horror shows.
    Ann

  10. Elizabeth: i sometimes claim I read reviews with my eyes closed – and it is almost true 😉

    Clarissa: well, love of books is such a nice addiction.

    Ann: I don´t mind the supernatural stuff – but don´t hurt a child!!

  11. Heather says:

    I clicked over to the other post. I understand why you had to purchase this book. i am about ready to make a book order even though I have far too many books waiting to be read.

  12. It sounds intriguing, thanks for the intro!

  13. Heather: Patti runs a series of thes posts, and they are usually very dangerous for your book budget.

    Cathryn: Patti also writes great flash fiction.

  14. Patti Abbott says:

    Dorte-That is from the first and probably the most violent story-although all of it is off-screen. I don’t think there is any scene of real violence in the book and often there are none at all. Just unhappy people trying to wrestle with their demons.

  15. Patti Abbott says:

    Oh, and what I came to say. Thanks so much!!!!

Leave a comment