New Year´s Irresolutions

First, I´d like to thank all my faithful readers for following this blog through thick and (especially) thin (lately), and wish each and every one of you a Happy New Year!

You have probably sussed that I am not the most enthusiastic blogger right now. I have neither read nor blogged very much in December, and to be honest I am in a rut. I am sure most of you have been there, asking yourself how to handle working, writing, blogging – and living.

I am not at all sure what I should do because the obvious solution would be to stop blogging altogether for some time, but I know I´ll miss you all terribly. But I know that I will have to try to read a couple of books just for the pleasure of it without thinking of the review I ´must´ write afterwards.

Comments and good advice will be appreciated – but if you really know me, you´ll also know I always make my own decisions anyway ;)

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to New Year´s Irresolutions

  1. Beth F says:

    As you know, I’m struggling with the same thing. I’ve decided I just can’t feel guilty about anything related to blogging and that my offline life and job must first. Wish I had words of wisdom. I hope you don’t decided to stop blogging but instead thing about slowing down and doing just what you want to do.

    Happy new year!

  2. A Happy New Year to you and your family.

    I’ve hardly posted any book reviews this December, but I have been reading without thinking of what to write about the books, which I’ve found very enjoyable! It’s hard to get back into blogging when I’ve had a break like this. This December has been quite stressful for one reason or another and I haven’t felt like writing much. I hope you don’t decide to stop blogging, but as Beth says just slow down and takes things easy for a well.

  3. Petty Witter says:

    Oh Dorte, What can I say except that I’d also miss you terribly should you take the decision not to blog for a while …… to hear you say the solution would be to stop blogging for some time is just too awful a thought so I’ll leave it with you not blogging for a while, that I can just about cope with.

    All my best to you and yours no matter what your decision, happy new year, Tracy. x

  4. Dorte – Striking that balance between blogging, working, writing and so on is so difficult, and what “counts” as the right balance is different for everyone. Whichever decision you take, it will be the right one for you. I’ll look forward to reading what you write whenever you blog..
     
    In the meantime, all the best to you for 2012!

  5. lrbauthor says:

    Oh, Dorte! I DO know how you feel. I’ve been in a writing funk since mid-November. I really do think the holidays have a lot to do with it. I am trusting that 2012 will bring many story ideas, lots of new characters, new places, and loads of people to murder for both of us! Don’t hesitate to cry on my shoulder when you need it. I’m here for you and understand completely–unless, of course, I’m at Starbucks writing. In which case, you’re on your own until I get back! LOL Seriously, dear friend, I am suffering the same dilemma right now. But, I did get $55 in gift cards for Starbucks for Christmas, so I HAVE TO DO SOME WRITING!

  6. My advice: don’t worry about it. Don’t stop blogging. Just do it when you want to. We’re not going anywhere. When you want to write a post (like this one) just do it. Stop by your friend’s blogs and comment when you feel up to it. Writing and life should come first and your true friends will understand that.

  7. harvee says:

    Go with the flow – whatever you feel like at the time. Happy reading in the new year!

  8. Norman says:

    Wishing you a Happy New Year, Dorte. I would just blog when you feel like it, that is a much better solution for you and your readers than stopping altogether.

  9. Maxine says:

    Happy new year, Dorte.

    Of course you will do your own thing, but hobbies (blogging, reading, reviewing) are a pleasure, or should be – there are enough things we “have” to do in this world!

  10. Barbara says:

    Dorte, I share your problem with fatigue so I understand. I would so miss your frequent blogging but you must do what is right for you. I’ve never been able to blog every day so I just don’t worry about it. When I have something to write, I blog, when I don’t, I don’t. People understand and are just happy when you do have time and energy to write to us. Take care of yourself and set your own priorities.

    Meanwhile, Happy New Year. I wish the best for you and your family in 2012.

  11. Palle Rasmussen says:

    Reading should be a pleasure, not a nuisance. Look out for yourself and enjoy your reading.
    Happy New Year, Dorte

  12. Kelly says:

    Wonderful comment from Clarissa.

    I would certainly miss you if you stopped blogging entirely, so please don’t do that. Wishing you and your family all the best for the coming year and hope to see you again before too long!

  13. Sarah says:

    It’s lovely to read your blog Dorte, so keep going. Even your photos of the noth sea are wonderful!

  14. Heather says:

    I”ve been in this same state since my nephew passed away in early july. Then my dad was diagnosed with cancer. It does make it tough. I have kept up with some reading, but have about 8 books awaiting reviews. I decided I would read some books without a thought of reviewing them. It was very enjoyable, but then I thought perhaps small review s of them would be appropriate. I wanted to do it as a way of thanking the company that gave them away as a Christmas promotion. Well, I wrote them up yesterday and put them up today. I do feel much better having done this post. Now to write another from the backlog to put up tomorrow or the next day and maybe that will help get me back on track.

  15. Joanne says:

    This year I’ve decided to cut back on blogging for some of the reasons outlined above. I think just cutting back to one post a week, or start with two a week, then one. Something like that. Your blog is still here, we’re still here blogging too. All the best and happy new year!

  16. Happy New Year Dorte and I’ll add my voice to the chorus…do what feels right for you but there is no need to blog every day, or even every week…an occasional post is fine if that’s how you decide to go. Hope your reading rut ends soon…we’ve all been there and it’s horrid when the thing that normally givesyou pleasure is no longer working but I trust it will return

  17. Rob says:

    Dorte, happy new year. No need to feel any guilt about blogging. Just do it when it suits. A few nuggets here and there will keep us all happy enough

  18. I echo Clarissa and Harvee, and really all the others!

    Happy New Year, and enjoy!! All the best in 2012 :)

  19. Kerrie says:

    Happy New Year Dorte. I do note that you have blogged just about once every two days though which is still pretty good. One of the reasons I write reviews is to help me remember the books. I think small reviews are fine too.

  20. Kerrie says:

    BTW I would miss your blog very much if you stopped altogether

  21. Hmm. Nothing left for me to say that hasn’t already been said. As you know I usually write short reviews — typically 4 paragraphs, more when the mood strikes — and that works for me. And then I cheat and review movies and TV shows, and kids books, and other things that don’t take much time. I hope you find what works for you, because I’d miss you if you gave up altogether.

  22. Seana says:

    Happy New Year, Dorte! I’m sure you’ll find a balance that works for you.

  23. kathy d. says:

    Happy New Year to you and your family. I have to say I admire all of you who work, write, read, blog, have families. I don’t know you do it. I hope you have time to blog now and then, but mostly I hope you get to read for pleasure and distraction and write.
    We’ll miss your posts but wish you well in the coming months.

  24. Thank you so much for your understanding and support, and it does help to know I am not the only one.
    And thank you for all your good wishes, they mean a lot to me – which is why it is not likely I will stop blogging altogether ;)

    And as you can see, WordPress very kindly wrote my blog post for me today – with lots of pictures even :D

  25. First of all I wish you all the best for 2012, Dorte.
    Re blogging: we’ve all been there. For me, distancing myself from it brought me back with enthusiasm. Sometimes the pressure of ‘goals’ does not work so well, but we are all different. So just go with the flow…

  26. Rhian: thank you. After this ´confession´ I feel better about it already.

  27. Belle Wong says:

    I’ve been in a bit of a different situation, Dorte – for the past four months or so, I’ve been so immersed in work deadlines, I haven’t been blogging much at all, or writing, or reading … or living! As the deadlines begin easing off this month, I’m actually looking forward to blogging more.

    Having said that, though – as you already know, I’m not one to blog regularly. Once I decided I wasn’t going to worry about blogging about every book I’ve read, or about blogging consistently, even, I liked my blog a whole lot better. Mind you, I’m reading everyone’s lovely reading stats right now, and feeling a bit jealous because I don’t know how many books I read in 2011 because I didn’t use my blog to keep track!

    You’ve done so much in 2011 – you’re my inspiration in 2012 when it comes to my writing! I said it in my other comment, but just want to say it again – happy new year, Dorte!

  28. Louise says:

    I’ve quit my blog several times over the years it has existed due to lack of time, lack of inspiration or feeling the pressure of having to post something particular. However I always end up coming back.

    It happens that I take a picture of something pretty and think “Hey, I’ll post this on the blog… oh well, no, I won’t as I’ve stopped blogging.” and then it happens again and again and then finally I’m back at blogging. And what’s important is that it’s FUN again and not yet another chore that I have to perform, yet another deadline.

    So take a break from blogging or slow down for a while. Review the books you want to review – and if you still feel obliged to review all of them (a delusion I myself suffer from at the moment) why not review multiple books in one post where you only write one or two lines about each one? That way no book will be left out and you will not be burdened by having to think of anything deeper to write than your first impression after finishing the book. Lidt ligesom Anette gør her: http://orangehjorne.blogspot.com/2011/10/lst-i-oktober.html

  29. Belle: and I´m looking forward to hearing more from your blog :)

    Louise: good points!

  30. Poly says:

    Hi Dorte and Happy New Year!
    For you, your writing and for anything else! :)))

    Everybody is all over the net, weather it’s a blog, twitter, facebook, ebook, newsletter, publisher, etc. By George! Where do one start to read or to write!
    And because of the massive communication that is available, we all get “Internet Fatigue!!
    The obviously reasens, where to go first or not!

    I do believe that one must have the heart or interest in what to do, or where to drop a line or two. And if limet time or fatigue gets in the way, I do believe that all one have to do, is, as you just did, state it! I also think it is quite fine just to drop a line, saying a few word in any fashion about:
    “Out of sight doesn’t mean out of mind!

    Just as a curtesy to let people know. But also to all those fans that you do have. And ever more, to all those that have/are following the development of your book! For “friends” in whichever shape will understand. But those who read or promote your books, do spread “the word”, and the buyers, and the reputaton!

    And your are building up your authourship, so for that specific issue, just a few word would help to keep “the thread” alive. Which your already are doing on your Facebook page.

    Still, as you said yourself, in the end you will make up your own mind. Very wise. For only you can take and live with “your” responsibilities and the outcome. And you know as well as anyone else, in the end it’s all about priorities.

    All the best with whatever you deciede. :-))
    With care,
    Poly

  31. Thank you so much for your nice comment, Poly, and sorry I haven´t noticed it earlier!
    Internet fatigue is a fine word for the ´illness´ many bloggers run into from time to time. I will do my best to blog at least once or twice a week so you can see I am alive and reading and writing (at least sometimes).

  32. Pingback: Goodbye to reviewing | djskrimiblog

Leave a Reply

