Handicap race :)

March – when middle-aged women think they are spring chickens. Thank you to Elisabeth, my photographer.

 

 

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Thy. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Handicap race :)

  1. Kelly says:

    I am quite impressed!! Not only are you walking on stilts, you appear to be quite comfortable with it! I’m better off staying at ground level. ;)

  2. Yes, where’s the handicap?!

  3. Oh, Dorte, this is wonderful!!!! Wow! A real hidden talent! Thank you for sharing this :-). I am truly impressed!

  4. Ann says:

    Amazing – I’m glad you got pictures. We used to have stilts in elementary school and we all loved attempting to “walk” with them.
    Ann

  5. Kelly: my brother and I were the unofficial local stilt champions 40 years ago. It is just one of those skills you never forget.
    Prashant: *I* am the handicap (though it is invisible) :D
    Margot: I haven´t laughed so much for ages so I´ll have to try again – though my arms shake terribly now.
    Ann: it is one of the few cool things I was really good at as a child ;) My older brother was my role model, and I wanted to do everything he did.

  6. Petty Witter says:

    Bravo, well done Dorte, I’m impressed that the last image wasn’t of you landing on your bottom.

  7. Tracy: I´d never run that risk – not sure my bones would survive!!!

  8. Bill Selnes says:

    Dorte: Your balance is impressive. I know I could never have the ability to stand let alone move on stilts. Do children walk on stilts as you did when a child?

  9. booksplease says:

    Brilliant Dorte – I could walk on stilts when I was a child, but can’t imagine trying now!

  10. booksplease says:

    Brilliant Dorte – I used to be able to walk on stilts as a child, but can’t imagine trying it now!

  11. I am very jealous, I was never very good on stilts when young, I imagine I would be a disaster now. Very impressive talent you have

  12. Norman Price says:

    Showing off just because you have two good knees and a sense of balance. Very jealous of your talent. ;-)

  13. Ellen says:

    A walk down Memory Lane – both for you and me :-) – but were and is way ahead of me …
    Next time I’d much appreciate to see a video ;-)

  14. Certainly very impressive Dorthe… do you have other secret talents?

  15. Bill: no one can stand on them; it´s just like a bike in the way that you have to move, or you´ll fall. But once you have learnt it, it is really very simple. I don´t think they are very common any more – can´t compete with electronic gadgets, I´m afraid.
    Margaret: I am sure you would find out you still could if you tried.
    Bernadette: you see, our new government has made it necessary. If I´m ever fired from my teaching job, the consequences for me (in a special, flexible job) will be so terrible, I´ll have to apply for a job in a circus ;)
    Norman: I know, I know, but what else could I do to compete with blonde Marklund and Läckberg??? ;D
    Ellen: haha. I must see how good my husband´s phone is.

  16. Amanda: at least not ones I can remember :D

  17. Beth F says:

    Yay you! This looks like soooooo much fun.

  18. p881 says:

    Never could do this. Makes me nervous just to watch the stills.

  19. You are so cool! I’m not sure I could do that.

  20. Thank you friends. It was marvellous and made me feel young again – for five minutes :)

  21. Petty Witter says:

    Stopping by to say hello, I hope all is well with you and yours.

  22. Joanne says:

    I loved stilts as a little girl – I was pretty good, too. I would like to try that again – looks like fun. You look very capable up there, even for five minutes. :)

  23. Tracy: thank you; I am okay but have been very busy workwise – and also politically, but that is probably not very relevant for my English readers :) I will try to post a couple of reviews during Easter.
    Joanne: stilts are fun! And I am sure you´ll still be very capable if you can find a pair; in my experience it is not something you forget.

  24. kathy d. says:

    This is so impressive! I’ve never seen anyone who’s not an acrobat use stilts. I was never around stilts as a child — I grew up in two major U.S. cities. Stilts were not around. The only time I ever saw them being used was in circuses or big parades.

Leave a Reply

