Christine Poulson, Murder is Academic (2004)

Murder is AcademicThe first novel in the Cambridge Mystery series, featuring professor Cassandra James.

This is how the prologue begins:

“It’s hard now to remember what first struck me as not being quite right, but I think it was the garden sprinkler.”

Cassandra James has come to collect some exam papers at her colleague’s house. Margaret Joplin is the head of the English Department, but when Cassandra rings her doorbell, there is no response. Instead, she finds the papers scattered in Margaret’s pool. Appalled, Cassandra tries to fish the papers out of the water, and this is when she sees a white hand.

The atmosphere is set and I was absorbed by the story from the very first page. Recommended, especially for those of you who love academic mysteries which focus on the environment and the puzzle, rather than gory crime.

I met Christine Poulson at CrimeFest in Bristol 2011, and recently I read one of her excellent short stories (published in a Danish anthology of crime fiction). I bought the book myself because I had high expectations to her series.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in British, Christine Poulson, review, review 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christine Poulson, Murder is Academic (2004)

  1. So glad you liked this, Dorte. And I’m with you; it’s nice to have a solid mystery that doesn’t rely on gore…

  2. Kelly says:

    I really hate to begin another series, but this sounds SO appealing! (plus I love the cover)

  3. Margot: I knew this series would appeal to you ;)
    Kelly: at least they are cheap! But I know what you mean; I have 100+ books to read in my Kindle.

  4. Tracy Terry says:

    Attracted by the cover of this, it sounds like a refreshing change from all those gore filled crime mysteries.

Leave a Reply

