>Kate Mosse, Sepulchre (2009)

>Jeg kan godt lide at læse en historisk krimi nu og da, og hvis forfatteren kan sit kram, gør det ikke noget, at den er på over 700 sider. Men efter ca 50 sider lagde jeg Sepulchre til side, uden egentlig at være nået så langt, at jeg er i stand til at vurdere plottet.

Sproget er simpelthen for romantisk og svulstigt for mig. Jeg har en fornemmelse af at bevæge mig rundt mellem bølgende barme, i det mindste metaforisk.

Her en beskrivelse af heltinden, Léonie:

”Men nu blussede hendes alabasterkinder. Tykke proptrækkerkrøller af kobberfarvet hår havde løsnet sig fra hendes kamme og vældede ned over de nøgne skuldre. Hendes blændende grønne øjne, der var indrammet af lange, kastanjebrune vipper, glødede af vrede og dristighed.”

Hm. Jeg går muligvis glip af en storslået historie, men blussende alabasterkinder? Nej, det er vist ikke mig, der er målgruppe for denne biblioteksbog.

Kate Mosse, Sepulchre (2007).
I do enjoy a historic crime novel once in a while, and if the author knows her stuff, I don´t mind at all ploughing my way through more than 700 pages. But after around fifty pages I put Sepulchre down without even getting so far that I am able to judge the plot.

The language (the Danish translation) is simply too romantic and high-flown for me. I feel I am navigating among heaving bosoms, at least metaphorically speaking.

Here a quotation about the heroine, Léonie:

“Now, her alabaster cheeks were flushed. Thick ringlets of copper hair had come loose from her combs and tumbled down over bare shoulders. Her dazzling green eyes, framed by long auburn lashes, flashed with anger, and boldness.”

I may miss out on something, but flushing alabaster cheeks? Well, at least this quotation (from Amazon.com) has convinced me that the original language is not my taste either.

I borrowed it from the library.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in British, Kate Mosse, non-review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

