>Creating Characters

>
Right now I am revising a Danish manuscript of 85,000 words so this is a process that takes some times.

One of the problems is my protagonist. She is a 29-year-old middle class girl, and to be honest, she is a bit of a bore. She is interested in history and genealogy (like I am so that is not the boring part, of course), and she is intelligent though she is still a bit immature. Besides, she has several problems to cope with as she is unemployed, her father is ill and … No, I won´t give you that one. Who knows, maybe you will have the chance to read the full story one day.

What kind of things do you want to know about a protagonist? What could she be interested in? Does she dream of children, marriage and mortgage, or is that too early?

Some writers are excellent at creating vivid, three-dimensional characters that seem just as real as your neighbour. What exactly is it they do?

Any suggestions, ideas and tricks of the trade are most welcome.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Anna Märklin, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >Creating Characters

  1. Barbara says:

    Maybe she’s as immature as I was at 29. Before I really grew up (at about 35) and took life seriously, my dreams of marriage and children were like pipe dreams, wildly unrealistic. The children were perfect, the husband was perfect, the house practically cleaned itself, you know . . . I’m an historian and nerdy so maybe that’s why my dreams were so out in left field.

Leave a Reply

