>Robert Goddard, Found Wanting (2008)

>
Robert Goddard´s books are not exactly musts for me, but when I need something light and entertaining, I may pick one of his many thrillers. I chose this one because the Danish title “The Dane” made me curious.

And this is indeed a Goddard of the usual kind. Richard Eusden, a middle-aged civil servant is persuaded to bring a mysterious, old bag to Brussels by his ex-wife and his old friend (who has also been married to the wife). Connoisseurs of Goddard will suspect that something fishy is going on, and voila, Richard is not met by old friend Marty in Brussels, but by Werner Straub who claims Marty asked him to fetch the bag.

What follows is a complicated conspiracy and a story about the daughter of the Russian tsar, Anastacia. A search that brings Richard and Marty to Denmark. Interesting to read these sections, but somehow Aarhus did not quite strike me as the same town as I studied in. One example is the old family farm. A successful sheep farm near Aarhus? Hardly.

But can quiet, sensible Richard be certain that happy-go-lucky Marty has told him the full truth? Read the novel and find the answer. If you are a Goddard fan, you will also like this one.

I borrowed the book at the library.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in British, review, Robert Goddard. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

