>Straight from the reader´s mouth

>As I am cameraless today, I can´t show you my husband´s bargain. A clue: it is Swedish, and something you can read.

And finally I have read a book! No reviews for eight days, what a pathetic book blog. There will be a review for you tomorrow, though.

For now, a teaser:

“The farmhouse was a two-storey structure covered in Boston Ivy that had recently lost its bright red leaves. Three steps led up to a Georgian door, a semi-circle of clear glass above it. There were two Georgian sash windows to the left of the door, one to the right. A single-storey structure continued past the house to the right, interrupted along its length by a high archway. From McEvoy´s experience it almost certainly led into a farmyard that would be framed all the way round by outbuildings. It was a modest house for someone reputed to be one of the richest men in Ireland.”

I don´t know about you, but this farmhouse and its history is a setting I like. And on page 304 – oh, no, I shouldn´t tell you this, but I also like when the clues and tracks are a bit out of the ordinary. Nice touch!

And tomorrow I am going to take you to Ireland, one of my favourite holiday resorts.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Irish, quotation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

