>A Sense of Place

>Now and then it is is important to move out of your comfort zone so my next review book is from an area I have never visited, and apart from an Enid Blyton story, I don´t think I have read anything about this remote and exotic area before.

And now for a quotation to give you an impression of the style and setting:

“When I arrived at Canticle Street Mrs Llantrisant was already there swabbing the step. She did this every morning as well as tidying up in my office and doing a number of other things, all of which I had forbidden her to do. But she took no notice. Her mother had swabbed this step and so had her mother and her mother before that. There had probably been a Mrs Llantrisant covered in woad soaping the menhirs in the iron-age hill fort south of the town. You just had to accept the fact that she came with the premises like the electricity supply.” 

Very cosy – but perhaps appearances deceive?
More about Malcolm Pryce and Aberystwyth tomorrow.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Malcolm Pryce, Wales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

