>The Huey, Dewey and Louie Effect

>

A month ago I called for help because I had a name problem. I had realized it was a very bad idea to have a Jesmona and a Jemima in the same story because it would be so difficult to tell them apart. You were there promptly and solved the problem for me.

Yesterday I ran into another name problem. I have realized that one constable does not make a murder mystery, not even a cosy one. So I needed more proper police scenes, and thus some new names for Constable Primrose´s troops.

I know that these fellows are going to play minor roles, and on the one hand I want you (all my prospective readers) to remember that they are ´the constables´, on the other hand it won´t matter if they seem like an anonymous mob to you.

And this is where the Huey, Dewey and Louie effect comes into it. I know that some Donald Duck enthusiasts can tell the nephews apart, but most of us can´t – and it doesn´t bother us. Astrid Lindgren achieved the same effect in her Pippi Longstocking stories when she introduced the two silly policemen Kling and Klang (don´t know if they are called the same in English, but you will get my point).

So meet my mint-new constables: (Amy) Winchester, (Adam) Smith & (Walther) Wesson.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Gershwin & Penrose, The Cosy Knave. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

