>Kate Ellis, An Unhallowed Grave (1999)

>

Another brief reading report (sorry; I have been very busy writing, working – and blowing my nose – lately).

This series combines serious police work in the shape of DS Wesley Peterson, the coloured element of the local police force, plus an archaeology theme (Peterson´s mate from university, Neil Watson).

As usual in the series there is a modern mystery. The doctor´s well-liked secretary, Pauline Brent, is found hanged in the local cemetery, and the murderer has not made a very good job of imitating a suicide. The theme is the past which catches up with you. Besides the team of archaeologist find the body of a young woman who was hanged several centuries earlier.

This is classical British crime fiction with a nice sense of place, and in my opinion there is a touch of cosy mystery. I bought the book myself.
.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in British, Kate Ellis, review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

