>Wade McMahan, Witches Witch (2010)

>

As I said the other day, I am quite prepared to take a risk – at a price of $ 1.49.

The protagonist of this American short story is the private detective Richard Dick. Dick has been hired by Montague Johnson, an onion farmer of Georgia, to take a look at Barbie Fritzweller who is supposed to be a witch. Richard Dick does not believe in witches, however, so he seems to be more interested in Montague´s ravishing girlfriend, Savannah Periwinkle. 

Of course excellent writers can make first-person narrators just as credible and interesting as the third-person protagonist, but Richard Dick struck me as a rather flat character. The female characters were marginally better, but even in a short story I expect more than this.

This humorous fairy tale takes place around Halloween. Soon read – soon forgotten, and as it was only fourteen pages, I didn´t mind too much reading it on the screen.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in American, review, short story. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

