>Kindling your Curiosity

>Yes, I have received my new gadget. I ordered my Kindle Wireless Reading Device, Wi-Fi, latest generation Friday and held it in my hand Monday afternoon.(No picture as I am not writing this post from home).

Yes, I have bought my first books. One because I wanted it, and one because it is just too easy to hit that button! Well, I did browse for editions of Macbeth, but I don´t recall having chosen one. Fortunately it was the cheapest one available. (Not that I don´t think Shakespeare is value for money, it is just that I own two or three paper versions already).

Yes, I have read my first book.
I had planned to read another book by Laura Wilson, but when I found her “Dying Voices” for less than eight dollars, I decided that that would be a very suitable test. (A short review will follow)

Yes, it is very easy to use. Most features are rather intuitive.

Yes, I enjoyed reading on the screen. I have shown it to several relatives and colleagues, and they all agree that the black letters on the white screen is just as perfect as reading on paper.

As I don´t know exactly how long the book is, I can´t say much about my reading speed, but I read it over two evenings (so definitely not slow motion).

A feature I really like is the icon which tells me how many percent of the book I have read. I think it is quite common for readers of crime fiction and thrillers that we want to know when we hit that crucial, final chapter.

So all in all, several large plusses.

I have only run into one problem yet. I have downloaded a NetGalley review book to my Kindle, but it seems to have vanished into thin air. According to NetGalley and Amazon, it should be enought to add my Kindle e-mail address to my NetGalley profile and add the NetGalley e-mail address to the list of addresses I am willing to receive files from. But no.

ADDITION: problem solved – I tried downloading them again, and this time it suddenly worked.

(Of course I am prepared to pay for most of my books, but Amazon just swallowed most of my 2011 book budget the other day)

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Kindle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

