>Scott Nicholson, The Red Church (2002)

>

This thriller-cum-ghost story is the American writer´s first novel, a stand-alone. It is set in a rural community in the Appalachian Mountains. 

Whenever thirteen-year-old Ronnie Day walks home from school, he does his best not to see the red church. His life is filled with trouble; his Baptist father has left their home because the mother has joined a weird cult, his younger brother Tim is too stupid to look after himself and then people begin to die mysteriously.

I bought the Kindle edition of this book myself out of sheer curiosity. Even though I liked the environment and the uncanny atmosphere, I gave up finishing the novel after the first handful of chapters. I don´t mind superstition, legends or haunted bell towers in an otherwise appealing story, but paranormal solutions to crime and spritual wars between Baptists and cult member are not really my thing.

Remember: this was just my opinion – if you like the paranormal, you may love this story.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in American, non-review, Scott Nicholson. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

