>Did not finish…

>Once again, I have put down a book (or erased it, as it happens) without finishing it. I asked for an ARC of a book that sounded very promising, and I still think there was a lot of possibilities in the plot and the historical setting.

But I struggled for three days, and in the beginning I assumed I was just too tired to concentrate. Well, last night I figured out what it was that annoyed me. There was far too little police work. The inspector focused on one suspect almost from the beginning, and as far as I could see, his ´evidence´ was mainly hearsay and intution.

As I only read one third of the book, I have no idea whether the inspector was right or not, but that is just not the point. The story took place before these dna times, but even dear old Sherlock Holmes would have looked for footprints, witnesses and other kinds of solid evidence.


What makes you give up on a book? 

Are you willing to give it a chance later, e.g. if you see glowing reviews of it?
(I sometimes pick up a book again, but as I happened to remove this one completely from my Kindle, I´d better not regret my first judgement).
.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in non-review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

