Val McDermid, Star Struck (1998)

(I know this is not a review, but I also use my blog to keep track of what I read when so what you see is what you get).

I read the 6th Kate Brannigan mystery in one day and enjoyed it a lot. In my opinion this interesting private detective could be called Manchester´s Kinsey Millhone.

And for those of you who don´t like McDermid´s rather graphic Tony Hill & Carol Jordan series, I can assure you that this series is almost cosy, teeming with oddball actresses, fortune tellers and computer gizmos.

I bought the book myself.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in review, review 2011, Scottish, Val McDermid and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Val McDermid, Star Struck (1998)

  1. Dorte – Thanks for reminding me of this series. This particular one is a book I haven’t read yet. I probably should.

  2. I don’t mind McDermid’s books but this is one series I haven’t started. I should though, I really should.

  3. Barbara says:

    She’s like Kinsey Millhone? Kinsey’s my favorite, so obviously I’d better start reading this series too.

  4. Margot and Clarissa: it always puzzles me that McDermid can write series that are so different in every way, but I suppose that is what characterizes a brilliant writer.

    Barbara: yes, I think they have some things in common, e.g. their drive and stubbornness. But Kate seems to be better at making relationships work.

  5. Kelly says:

    I think the fact you read it in one day is a good review! It certainly tells us you liked it!

    I do like Kinsey Millhone (just read U recently), so that also speaks well of it.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    I love Val’s writing. Especially A PLACE OF EXECUTION.

  7. Kelly: it is a fine, traditional private detective series. Not something that shatters the world, but solid entertainment.
    Patti: A Place of Execution is a first-rate thriller that keeps you on the edge of your chair.

Leave a Reply

