W.J. Burley, Wycliffe´s Wild-Goose Chase (1982)

This is the tenth British police procedural featuring Chief Superintendent Wycliffe.

As readers of the series will know, Wycliffe is not a paper pusher but likes leaving his desk as often as possible to investigate his cases himself. This time he is lucky; he is the one who takes an early morning stroll along the local shore and finds a gun which has been fired recently.

Thanks to this unexpected lead, he and his people discover the body quite soon in a flat above an antique shop. The owner of the shop has been shot through the head in what looks like suicide, but if so, how did the gun end up in the shingle? Besides, the late owner´s brother and business partner has disappeared on the same night.

The story offers a mixture of solid police work and a detective who follows his hunches while he gets to know the closest friends of the victims by joining their quiet domino circle. A traditional and very cosy crime novel rather than a fast-paced thriller.

I bought it myself and recommend it as a nice summer read.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in British, cozy mystery, review, review 2011, W.J. Burley. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to W.J. Burley, Wycliffe´s Wild-Goose Chase (1982)

  1. Sounds like a great plot. I’ll look it up.

  2. I’ve only read one of the Wycliffe books which I enjoyed very much. I hope to read more of them. Glad that this one worked well for you – I like a traditional and cosy crime novel every now and then.

  3. Beth F says:

    I haven’t read this series, but sounds like a good one.

  4. Dorte – Thanks for this fine review. I haven’t read a lot of the Wycliffe series, but the ones I have read (which don’t include this one) are enjoyable. Glad you liked this one.

  5. Clarissa: I really liked the idea of the superintendent who is frustrated because he always enter the drama in the middle of things. This time he is in at the beginning – but I am not sure he is less frustrated😉
    Margaret: The Wycliffe series seems to be very solid – I think I have read three, and they are all of good quality.
    Beth: yes, it is.
    Margot: I won one recently so I have another treat waiting for me on the shelf. Perhaps for the summer holidays.

  6. Kelly says:

    Yet another interesting series I might have to invest the time in reading someday! I know I would enjoy it.

  7. Kelly: I think you would. He is a fine protagonist, and I enjoy the British setting very much.

  8. Barbara says:

    Sure rules out suicide, doesn’t it? 😀 This sounds like a delightful read for summer.

Leave a Reply

