Under Cover

Does my cosy mystery look good in this?

As you can see, I have begun experimenting with a cover for my humorous mystery, The Cosy Knave. I have not succeeded in finding an agent yet  so before long I am ready to move on to plan B: self-publishing the story.

The other day I was very fortunate in finding a gorgeous picture and a kind blogger who is ready to take a new one for me this summer which I can use without having to distort the beautiful red-brick mansion (Ellen, I am so happy that I found your blog). And I am also in touch with a blogger who will help me with other aspects so I feel ever so privileged to be part of the generous, helpful blogging community.

Personally, I think the cover to the left looks best (with a few adjustments), but please tell me what you think. (Remember, you can enlarge the photos with a click).

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Gershwin & Penrose, The Cosy Knave. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Under Cover

  1. ooooh yes I can see that as Netherdale Manor Dorte

  2. Joanne says:

    I like the one on the left.🙂

  3. I prefer the cover on the left too.

  4. Beth F says:

    I’m for the left one!

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    The left on without a doubt. We need that lawn.

  6. Mason Canyon says:

    I’m for the one on the left too. Great cover, makes you curious what’s going on inside.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress
    Freelance Editing By Mason

  7. Dorte – Absolutely the one on the left. That really does look like Netherdale Manor!

  8. Barbara says:

    Maybe mine is backwards, but I prefer the one on the right with the grass all the way to the bottom. It has more depth and feeling.

  9. I agree, the one on the left, and the manor looks full of atmosphere!

  10. Barbara says:

    This is spooky. After I posted my comment, I looked back at the covers and the one I prefer is now on the left. The gremlins are trying to confuse me.

  11. I am so glad you like my idea. And I am sure that when I get the final photos of that house, it will be even better.

    Barbara: maybe the house is bewitched. I wouldn´t put it past it😉

  12. Kelly says:

    I agree with everyone. I definitely prefer the left. Too much white on the other. My only question is using a King for your card. I always think of the Jack as being the knave.

  13. Kelly: actually it is a knave from a very old set of Danish playing cards. It says kn for knægt (= knave). I hope people will be able to see that on the final cover because I have one in a higher resolution.

  14. Bente Pedersen says:

    Hej Dorte! Ej, hvor fint… jeg er med på begejstringen over fotoet til venstre🙂
    KH Bente

  15. Tusind tak, Bente. Jeg sidder lige netop og får bogen til at passe til omslaget; det er somme tider lettere end at gå den anden vej😀

  16. Keishon says:

    Must I say it? The one one the left.😀 It’s great to hear about the generosity of other people in the community giving you a hand. That’s awesome.

  17. Keishon: I am afraid I do like hearing you like my cover😀

  18. I also vote for the one on the left!

  19. iasa says:

    another one favoring the left cover here!

  20. Harvee and Iasa: tell me more, tell me more …😀

  21. Leeswammes says:

    Yes, definitely the left one. The right one looks… empty. Nice picture, though!

  22. Pingback: Under Cover II | djskrimiblog

Leave a Reply

