My Writing Life

Mid-exam you may not feel you have any kind of life, but I have taken a few steps forward. My historical mystery, Crystal Nights, set in Denmark in the 1960s, grows slowly but steadily (no, it doesn´t, but at least it grows. It is much worse when stories move backwards).

I have begun preparing “The Cosy Knave” for electronic publishing, and as usual I love the stage when I can read my own book in my Kindle. I hope I´ll never grow too blasé for that. A tentative deadline is September.

Besides, I sent a story off to a competition in May. I didn´t win, but they were kind enough to send me this rejection:

Every submission was read twice by our editorial team. The creativity and richness of the work you and other writers submitted made the selection process difficult but exciting. While your piece did not place, we want you to know we enjoyed reading it and hope you place it elsewhere soon.

Thank you, editors, I appreciate that you took the time to read my story and assure me I am not hopeless. And I have no idea if they write the same to all participants; never mind, it was a nice way of putting it.

Two-Sentence Tuesday

hosted by Women of Mystery

Last week I did put a few words on paper – or wherever your computer stores them.

This is the beginning of chapter four of “Crystal Nights”, and for those of you who like ciphers, here is a bit of fun: (my mother cracked the Danish version so you´ll have a chance even if you are not a former cold war spy):

“Htjeweihedasksletenenaadocffninihtaettci”. His two little brothers had finally fallen asleep, and Niels could begin to study the small notebook. He scrutinized the characteristic, pencilled letters in the cone of light emitted by his best torch.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Crystal Nights, Gershwin & Penrose, The Cosy Knave. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Writing Life

  1. Dorte – I’m glad you are making such progress on your writing. I can’t wait to get The Cosy Knave when it comes out🙂.

    And you’re quite right; a pleasant and supportive rejection is not that difficult to write, and means a lot to the person who gets it.

  2. Mason Canyon says:

    CRYSTAL NIGHTS sounds intriguing. I’m glad it’s moving along for you.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress
    Freelance Editing By Mason

  3. Petty Witter says:

    How exciting – good luck with your writing, I really don’t know when you find the time to fit it all in.

  4. Margot: I am also very excited about publishing my first novel. But I´ll wait until I have the perfect cover photo😉
    Mason: I do think there is a lot of potential in Crystal Nights, I just hope I´ll be able to put it down in writing.
    Tracy: well, I don´t always find the time, but looking forward to writing is one of the things that keep me happy.

  5. Leah J. Utas says:

    Good for you. It feels good to be writing, doesn’t it?

  6. Kelly says:

    Oooo, I guess that’s a bit like solving a “cryptoquote” (which I attempt in my newspaper each day along with the crossword and the sudoku)!

    I think you’re progressing quite nicely with everything. I look forward to the release of “The Cosy Knave”!

  7. Clare2e says:

    Dorte- I just did a post at the other blog (Criminal Element) linking to an article from Copenhagen Daily (I think) online talking about 3 (really 4) Danish crime authors who have new American deals: Sara Blaedel, Jussi Adler-Olsen, and two women who co-write Agnete Friis and–oh I can’t remember the other without looking her up. Anyway, are they any good, if you’ve read them?

  8. Leah: getting something written is wonderful!

    Kelly: yes it is nice – but also terrible – when publishing day is near.

    Clare: Jussi Adler-Olsen and Friis + Kaaberbøl are among my Danish favourites. Sara Blædel is very popular (often called the Danish queen of crime), but in my opinion her language is rather bland, but her plots are okay I suppose.

Leave a Reply

