Adrian Hyland, Gunshot Road (2010)

This Australian crime story is the second in the series about Emily Tempest.

This book has a bit of everything, including humour:

“He went to the kitchen window and said something to a steamy man in a once-white singlet whose appearance brought to mind my father´s advice regarding roadhouse cuisine: always check for body parts.”

The Aboriginal Emily Tempest has just joined the police force as an Aboriginal Community Police Officer. At first she thinks it is a good idea, but then her friend Superintendent Tom McGillivray is hospitalised, and she has lost an important ally among the white officers. So suddenly she finds herself working for Sergeant Cockburn who was transferred from Queensland recently.

An old friend of her father´s, the geologist Albie Ozolins, also called Doc, is killed after an argument with his drinking buddy Petherbridge, better know as Wireless. An unfortunate case of manslaughter according to Sergeant Cockburn, but nothing is ever simple to Emily Tempest.

Emily may be the new woman on the force, but she knows the territory and the blackfellers like the back of her own hand. And the best way to make her curious is to tell her to stay away from something. In other words, we have a female protagonist here who doesn´t put up with anything. The setting is interesting and unusual to a Scandinavian reader, but the antagonism between the very correct white Sergeant Cockburn and his stubborn black subordinate did not exactly come as a huge surprise.

An ARC sent on to me from Maxine, and a perfect choice for the Global Reading Challenge, Australia.

(NB: I´ll be away most of the weekend – see you later).

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in 2011 Global Reading Challenge, Adrian Hyland, Australian, review, review 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Adrian Hyland, Gunshot Road (2010)

  1. KerrieS says:

    Glad you liked it Dorte

  2. Joanne says:

    Excellent choice. This is one of my favourite books.

  3. Dorte – Oh, I so loved Gunshot Road! I’m so glad you liked it, too🙂. I like that passage you chose, too; it really does hint at the humour in the story.

  4. Maxine says:

    Glad you enjoyed the book, Dorte, and hope also your weekend.

  5. Kelly says:

    This sounds like an interesting concept and I loved the humorous excerpt you included. 🙂

  6. Bill Selnes says:

    Dorte: I was interested to read your review. I have just finished Gunshot Road and will be posting my review shortly. I have some reservations about it but I did enjoy the book.

  7. Beth F says:

    I’ve been interested in this series and now you’ve convinced me to give it a try.

  8. Petty Witter says:

    Thanks Dorte. If the quote is a good example of whats in store for us I’m sure I’ll like this book as as you know I quite like my books with a bit of humour thrown in.

  9. kathy d. says:

    Great book, prose, character, respect for the Indigenous peoples of Australia. Enjoyed the writing, savored it one paragraph at a time.

  10. It is so nice to come back home from a busy weekend to all your comments. I did enjoy this one a lot, but I tried reading it last year, and then I never got beyond the first couple of pages. Goes to prove I am a mood reader, and that some books really deserve a second chance.

Leave a Reply

