Story Time?

Now my brain has had time to realize it is summer, and I thought it might be time for you and me to spin a nice summer yarn. Same procedure as last year; I come up with a general idea, and you tell me what you want to see in the story. I promise I will try to use as many of your ideas as possible.

The beginning: a few days ago I dreamed that I found a black handbag. I picked it up, meaning to give it back to the owner. But I wondered if I should check the contents first. To see, if anyone had stolen her valuables. Or perhaps I could find some contact information inside it. So there I stood, bag in hand, uncertain what to do. And then it dawned on me: of course I had to open it – that´s what a crime writer would do.

What do you think, is there a story in the black handbag?

Thank you for your wonderful input – Monday is StoryDay!

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Story Time?

  1. Dorte – Oh, what a delicious idea! Hmmmm…….. yes, there is a story in that black handbag. Its owner is living under a secret identity because she fears for her life.

  2. Bente Pedersen says:

    In her handbag you find a pink I-pod where the chosen language of the speaker is russian!

  3. Petty Witter says:

    Thank you for making my day – I’ve so been longing for another of your wonderful story features. Inside the nondescript black bag there is nothing but a diary with a thick red ring around ? (i’ll let you pick the date) and a fake passport.

  4. Petty Witter says:

    Me again. A bit off topic I know but I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed reading The Demise Of The Soccer Moms – you can see my review here at ….. http://pettywitter.blogspot.com/2011/07/demise-of-soccer-moms.html

  5. Margot, Bente, Tracy: I am glad you want to play along and that you have given me some interesting pieces of the puzzle😀

  6. Wouldn’t it be lovely if there was a finger inside. I mean, from a mystery writer’s standpoint of course.

  7. Kelly says:

    How fun!! I loved doing this last year and I hope I’m not “too late to the party” for this one.

    Two thoughts came to mind – there could be a locket in the handbag engraved with someone’s initials and a tiny photo inside OR you notice the pattern on the lining of the handbag doesn’t quite match up and you realize there is a slit in it, hiding something under the lining.

  8. Haha! Okay, Clarissa just made me laugh. Yes, a *finger*!

    I found someone’s Blackberry Sunday evening. Maybe there’s a cellphone in there with a message for the person who finds it….

  9. I love this! There are two shoes in the bag — same style, but different sizes.

    @Petty: thanks for the mention here!

  10. Clarissa: I do like your finger though I planned to involve my cosy sleuth Rhapsody, but I´ll ask her if she wants to play along ;D

    Kelly: it´s certainly not too late.

    Elizabeth: cellphones are always intriguing.

    Cathryn: two shoes? Now, do I change the handbag into a cello case or do I make one of the shoes tiny? Well, let´s see😀

  11. Cathryn: oh, I am sure I can squeeze a couple of shoes down there, but together with all the other stuff?😀

  12. Patti Abbott says:

    There’s a story in any handbag.

  13. Patti: you bet, and I am busy listening to this one😉

  14. Pingback: My Writing Life | djskrimiblog

Leave a Reply

