My Writing Life

Those of you who have known me forever (i.e. two years or more) know that July means holiday from school and plenty of time to write crime fiction.

After three slow spring months I had written no more than 16,000 words of “Crystal Nights”. It is a novel which begins with a short prologue in Berlin 1938, and afterwards it continues in a tiny, Danish village – thirty years later.

During the first week of my holiday I reached my first goal: 20,000 words before the end of June. I know that I also need to relax, get out, be with my family etc, so my next goal is just to write 500 words every day in July. So 35,000 words by the end of July – at least.

And as you know, I also write other things in between. I have made up my mind to blog three-four times a week, or whenever I have something to say (to give me plenty of time to write crime fiction). Besides, I promised you a summer story the other day. I woke up Wednesday, let the puzzle pieces you had given me slosh around a bit in my morning-dazed mind and jumped out of bed, eager to write a complete Rhapsody Gershwin mystery before I forgot all my our brilliant ideas.

So if you want to see what Rhapsody made of all your excellent clues, come back Monday. Did I remember to tell you I sent her off to the CrimeFest city of Bristol, by the way?

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Crystal Nights. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Writing Life

  1. Dorte – Thanks for catching us up on what you’ve been doing with your novel. I think you’re wise to pace yourself, and I’m so glad you’re making the progress that you’re making. I’m all excited to find out on Monday what you are going to do with that story, too🙂.

  2. Petty Witter says:

    Oh Crystal Nights sounds good, set in Berlin and moving onto a small Danish village 30 years later – what a great contrast that will be. And in the meantime we have Monday to look forward to.

  3. The post is wonderful. I do feel like I have known your forever! Because my life is so crazy right now, I’ve cut back to 500 words a day until I can move my schedule around. I want to start cutting back on my non-writing activities to focus on my current novel. Let us know how it all goes.

  4. Pingback: My Writing Life | djskrimiblog | Veja, Brasil

  5. Kelly says:

    I look forward to seeing what you made of all our suggestions!

    Enjoy your July and we’ll enjoy what posts you give us.🙂

  6. Margot: well, to be honest everything just slipped today for some reason – and I am also excited about Monday because you folks gave me so many brilliant pieces to play with🙂

    Tracy: I am having some problems with Crystal Nights, but basically I think I have a good idea.

    Clarissa: it is funny because when I began blogging, I tried to keep it all professional. Book stuff only, but somehow the facade slipped when I found so many new friends through blogging🙂

  7. Kelly: thank you. Now I´ll just have to struggle to keep my resolve and not blog EVERY day😉
    I ought to write.

  8. I’m looking forward to Monday, although it will come much later here😉

    500 words a day sounds like a great balance between writing and summer weather!

  9. Good plan, Dorte! I should try to do something similar (maybe cut back on blogging just a smidge for a few weeks to get some stuff done. I always *say* I’ll do that, but then I end up blogging every day after all… )

  10. Cathryn: making someone look forward to Monday? Not a bad achievement, eh?😉

    Elizabeth: plans are plans, and then there is reality. I have done well for a week, but today all the Amazon fuss has addled my brain a bit.

Leave a Reply

