Reading in the Hammock

The other day I flicked through the book supplement of the Danish paper “Weekendavisen”, searching for the crime fiction news. (Our best book supplement if you ask me).

Journalist Katinka Bruun recommends nine books ´for the hammock´.

Five of these have been translated from English.

1. Peter Temple, Den brændte jord (Truth) – Australian

2. Linwood Barclay, For tæt på (Too Close to Home) – American

3. Scott Turow, Uskyldig (Innocent) – American

4. Ann Cleeves, Stormvarsel (Blue Lightning) – British

5. S.J. Bolton, Blodhøst (The Blood Harvest) – British

Small wonder that the Danes have discovered Peter Temple though they won´t quite understand the attraction of Temple´s language. I was very pleased to see that Cleeves and Bolton were amont the five. Well-deserved, but the book supplements don´t always listen to me.

Four are from Scandinavia.

6. Helene Tursten, Venter i mørket (an Irene Huss story) – Swedish

7. Inger Wolf, Hvepsereden (Daniel Trokic and Lisa Cornelius) – Danish

8. Rie Osted, Den røde dame (an Andrea de Lima story) – Danish, cosy mystery.

9. Peter Dreyer, Glitch – Danish sci-fi.

I think Bruhn shows a good deal of taste and common sense. Or in other words, she is not as keen on dark, fast-paced thrillers as certain of her male colleagues.

I have read books by writer no 1, 4, 5 and 6 (strongly recommended), and I will try to get 7 and 8 from the library. As a writer of cosy mysteries I was pleased to see that a Danish publisher was willing to publish one. Perhaps the Danish readers of crime fiction will rediscover this genre as this journalist liked it quite a lot though she calls it an ´aunt mystery´ (meaning prim, I suppose) and calls the writers of the genre ´well-writing madams´.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Reading in the Hammock

  1. Norman says:

    Dorte how many Helene Turstens are available in Danish? We mono-linguists suffer greatly when you post about books we can’t read.

  2. Norman: nine, including this one. I think I have read six or so (borrowed from the library in any odd order, but I don´t think it matters that much with this series).

  3. I haven’t read any of these authors or books. I should check them out (the English version, of course).

  4. Dorte – Those are some fine recommendations. And I agree; it’s nice that the focus here isn’t only on really dark thrillers. There’s lots of other fine crime fiction besides those… Interesting point you make, too, about how cosies are perceived. I things don’t always stay that way.

  5. Patti Abbott says:

    I often wonder if with writers where the language is very important if perhaps the most important thing is lost. I think this would be true with my daughter-if you can’t read English I would imagine her greatest strength would be diluted.

  6. Kelly says:

    I’ve read some Scott Turow, but it’s been many years.

  7. Petty Witter says:

    Hmm interesting. Ann Cleaves is a local lass. well known for her library tours – sadly I have always managed to miss her.

  8. Clarissa: Cleeves and Bolton are fantastic. Some of Helene Tursten´s are also available in English; a fine Scandinavian series.

    Margot: it was a pleasure to see how good taste she had🙂

    Patti: I haven´t thought about Megan´s books in that connection, but you may be right. I know about Temple´s style though as I read some chapters of The Broken Shore in English, others in Danish.

  9. Kelly: Is he someone I ought to put on the list?

    Tracy: haha – but I met her in Bristol, and she even knew who I was when she saw the name ´Dorte´.

  10. Bill Selnes says:

    Dorte: I read and enjoyed and reviewed Innocent. I have not read any of the other books. Sometimes I am discouraged reading lists as I so often find I have read none or one on the list.

  11. Bill: well, in these days of global blogging it may change, but until recently I am sure one´s reading list depended heavily on where you lived.

Leave a Reply

