Under Cover II

Back in June I showed you my first attempts at creating a cover for “The Cosy Knave”. I hoped to get a new photo for it, but that may not be possible so here you see my second attempts. With this photo, I am forced to cut out part of the house, but what do you think; left or right?

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in The Cosy Knave. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Under Cover II

  1. left one for me, I like seeing a door in the house

  2. Bernadette: you definitely have a point there😉

  3. Dorte – I’m with Bernadette; I like the left one better, too. I like the way the shadows fall in the one on the left, too.

  4. Ann says:

    I like the left one. The one on the right doesn’t give you an idea of the size of the house.
    Good picture.
    Ann

  5. OH, please don’t ask me. I’m so picky with covers. For me, buying at a bookstore is almost 75% based on cover. I love the card and the knife idea. I just wished the knife actually went through the card. Could you perhaps buy a deck and place a knife through it? I like the house on the left though.

  6. Petty Witter says:

    ooh, thats a hard one but if I had to pick I think I’d have to go for the one on the right just because I like the turret.

  7. Bill Selnes says:

    Dorte: Difficult. I would lean to the right. I like the double turrets.

  8. I like the left for the view of the house, and the shadow on the lawn is darker.

  9. Norman says:

    I prefer the right one because the tree and round turret are more interesting.

  10. I like the one on the right better, the house is not so much in shadow so you can see it better and I like the turrets and the tree.

  11. Five votes for left and four for right.
    Well, you are not exactly making this easy for me, are you folks?

    Clarissa: I have thought about that, but this knave is rather special, first because it is a very fine old set (a rather charming Cupid, I think), and second because it says Kn on it, and not B (all our modern cards have a B so they are probably produced in Germany).

  12. Barbara says:

    You have another vote for the one on the right, Dorte. Not that one vote makes a big difference in this case.🙂

  13. Kelly says:

    Really tough to choose, but I think ultimately I like more about the left shot. I don’t think you can go wrong with either, though.

  14. Jose Ignacio says:

    I’ll go for the right shot, as Norman I also find it more interesting.

  15. Barbara, Kelly, Jose: I am sure you people have entered a conspiracy – you are NOT being helpful😉

  16. Bente Pedersen says:

    Jeg kan bedst lide det til højre… Her får jeg størst indtryk af et hus med mange kringelkroge…

  17. Can I be completely different? I like the house and the knave, but I’d leave the implement out. It looks flat against the depth of the house and I think you lose something of the quality of the cover. For the house, I like the one on the right.

  18. Bente: pyh, det er svært. Jeg håber ærlig talt, Ellen kommer hjem fra England med et nyt pletskud, for det er alt for svært at vælge mellem de to her.

  19. Laura: of course you can, and I´ll think about what you say, but I think (hope) the conglomeration points towards a cosy mystery.

  20. Care says:

    I prefer the one on the right.
    🙂

  21. Yvette says:

    Dorte: I’m adding my two cents to the mix.

    I like the left one because the top of the house, the roof line is a better design presence. It keeps the eye focused on the knave which I’m assuming is where you want it. The right one is a nicer view of the house, but not a nicer design. It’s too fussy.

    There’s lots going on here and the left design corrals it and keeps it from scattering. It’s more focused, if that makes more sense.

    Just my thoughts.

  22. Care: thank you.
    Yvette: yes, I think that makes sense (perhaps because you have expressed some of what I feel).

Leave a Reply

