While African children starve…

Sorry, I know you came here to see Thy´s Day # 59. I had even compiled some pictures of nice summer flowers. But that was until I watched the news last night.

So while I am enjoying a nice summer holiday, reading, writing and having a nice time with my family, millions of little children run the risk of starving – far away in Africa.

And what about you, my bibliophile friend? Do you remember how many times we have complained about all those books we buy which we hardly have the time to read anyway? Well, this month my TBR pile will not grow because I just sent July´s book budget off to Africa.

Are you ready to do something about your book addiction & help a few of those emaciated children before it is too late?

Tweets & further blog posts will be appreciated.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to While African children starve…

  1. Dorte – You are so right that we need to keep our priorities in order. What a great idea to send along your book budget. I’ve already tweeted your post and I’ll be following that up with a blog post, too.

  2. I hate to be a downer here, but you have to be EXTREMELY careful about where – and how – you send your money to Africa. I was a volunteer in Tanzania for two years, and I saw a lot of aid organizations with nice offices and fancy cars, but not a whole lot of community development activities. I also visited an orphanage for children of AIDS victims where the owners refused to give the children shoes so that foreigners would keep sending them money for shoes. I could go on and on here, but that’s probably depressing enough.

  3. Petty Witter says:

    What a wonderful idea Dorte OR how about holding a book sale for all those books gathering dust and sending the money thus raised? And if not Africa how about one of the many, many other good causes out there but as Critical Awareness said pick wisely.

  4. Thank you, Margot.

    Critical Awaresomeness: I know. I lived in Ethiopia once. I didn´t want to recommend any specific organization to my grown-up readers, but I sent my own contribution via the Danish branch of Red Cross. Because the fact that there are many dubious organizations out there does not relieve me of my duty to try (and I am sure that was not what you meant either).

  5. Norman says:

    Dorte, you are right we still have to try and hope we are not paying for a new SUV or fancy desk.

  6. Bente Pedersen says:

    Thank you for reminding us! Red Cross will get my contrabution as well!

  7. Ann says:

    Good post. I try to send money or “gifts” to places where I know someone. When I had a friend who worked in the Peace Corps for two years in Kazakhstan, we supported her efforts to help the children. But many of the packages were stolen or she had to pay for them to arrive safely. Very sad.
    Ann

  8. Kelly says:

    A very good post, Dorte! And it’s not just children starving in Africa. There is SO MUCH need out there, even in my own country (US), and I hope I never become so complacent I fail to reach out to others. Thank you for this reminder.

  9. Patti Abbott says:

    It is shocking how little coverage this gets on American TV. we are obsessed with ourselves nowadays.

  10. Thank you to each and every one of you for comments, support, tweets etc!

    The children of Africa need us!

  11. Pingback: Please Don’t Buy My Books | Confessions of a Mystery Novelist…

  12. Great, great post, Dorte. I can also recommend charity: water which helps local communities build clean water wells in Africa, and 100% of donations goes toward building wells. (My students raised almost enough to build half a well this spring!)

  13. Natasha Ramarathnam says:

    What a wonderful idea, Dorte. Thank you so much for suggesting it, and forcing us to think about the things that are really important.

  14. Karen: I am sure there are lots of genuine charities, and you must be proud of your students.

    Natasha: I just hope the post has been a tiny step in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

