Thy´s Day # 59

I have finally spent a day or two in a proper holidayish fashion, darting around in beautiful Thy, snapping pictures for your benefit.

Sjørring Vold is an old embankment (vold = bank or rampart), but today one of the main attractions of the quite idyllic recreational area  is the beautiful old school building.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Thy. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Thy´s Day # 59

  1. Norman says:

    Wow Denmark does have mountains! ;o)

  2. We do, Norman, and we even made this one ourselves! :O

  3. Petty Witter says:

    What a great post, I was wondering if it was possible that Sjørring Vold was an old burial mound.

  4. Dorte – Those are lovely ‘photos! The school building really is beautiful, and the rest of the area looks very pretty, too. No wonder it’s a popular spot for an “outdoors” day.

  5. Lovely!

    Dorte, I have just one question, and maybe I’ve asked it before, but what exactly is Thy’s day?

  6. Tracy: I can see it looks a bit like a burial mound, but this one is much longer; they are usually circular. We have plenty of them in Thy, though.

    Margot: yes, that old school building is an example of good, Danish architecture.

    Clarissa: good question. Thy is the beautiful region of North Jutland we live in, so Thy´s day is my (per)version of Thursday😀

  7. Kelly says:

    I love it when you share these glimpses into your world. Beautiful! (and someone keeps that mound nicely mowed)

  8. Kelly: oh, Denmark is so tiny we can mow the whole country every day😉
    I think I have some autumn pleasures for you; I went to Vendsyssel, the area where I grew up, the other day and took 2-300 pictures. Just you wait…

  9. Beth F says:

    Just beautiful and one reason I love Denmark. I am determined to get back to your beautiful country soon-ish.

  10. Beth: Denmark is a fairly pretty little country. And remember to tell me if you are anywhere near Thy.

Leave a Reply

