A Teaser

“I lived happily ever after from my mother´s funeral in May, when Esmond came back, until the end of September when I had my first intimation that something might be going wrong. At the time I was listening to Esmond and Bronwen, who were talking in the sitting room.”

This story definitely begins in the middle of things. After the first couple of pages you wonder why the narrator lives in that room, why he grew old in one moment back in 1967, and why his cousin lives downstairs in what is apparently the narrator´s house.

Extremely intriguing so far, and if you cannot guess the author and the title, I promise I will reveal the full truth in a few days.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in quotation. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Teaser

  1. I’m completely intrigued! But I have no guesses — I can’t wait to find out. That’s a teaser that has the potential for distracting me all day.

  2. Barbara says:

    Hmmmm. Esmond and Bronwen is a tantalizing clue and I have a feeling that if I think on it a bit, I’ll come up with the answer. We’ll see.

  3. Oooh, I like this Dorte! I’ll have to think about this. You’ve given me something to mull over and I’m going to enjoy figuring this out and seeing if I’m right🙂. Thanks

  4. Kelly says:

    I have no idea, but you’ve certainly hinted at enough that I’m wanting some answers!

  5. What a great beginning! Can’t wait to hear more…

  6. Mason Canyon says:

    It is indeed intriguing. Looking forward to find out more.

    Mason
    Thoughts in Progress
    Freelance Editing By Mason

  7. Cathryn: the first chapters made me curiouser and curiouser so I know what you mean. I hope you are well & just too busy to blog.

    Barbara: you must admit I have tried to be helpful.

    Margot: oh dear, if you can´t guess it, it must be harder than I thought.

    Kelly: just what I feel.

    Elizabeth: I´ll try to review it soon.

    Mason: yes, it is a real mystery.

Leave a Reply

