Simon Brett, Corporate Bodies (1991)

Mini-review (as yours truly is marking essays).

This British cosy is the fourteenth Charles Paris mystery.

Charles Paris became an actor “to avoid any job in fact with a predictability about it, any job for which you had to turn up at the same predictable hour every day, in which you had to climb a predictable career structure, in anticipation of a predictable retirement age and a predictable pension.”

The none-too-successful actor Charles Paris accepts a job playing a fork-lift truck driver in a promotional video for a food company. Suddenly, the day changes from drudgery to drama. The fork-lift which Charles knows he switched off was not switched off anyway so during the lunch break a young woman is killed, seemingly by accident. As Paris knows better he begins to stick his nose into the affairs of the company.

You know you are reading a cosy when a pretty, young woman is killed by a fork-lift truck without any blood spilt. A light, but charming cosy – perfect for a few hours´ escapism on the sofa. I bought the book myself.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in British, cozy mystery, review, review 2011 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Simon Brett, Corporate Bodies (1991)

  1. Hope you finish your marking soon, with no such dramatic interruptions.

  2. The cover looks cool and I like the plot. Thanks for the review.

  3. Dorte – Oh, I like the Charles Paris series very much🙂. Thanks for the reminder of how delightful those novels are🙂. And I know all about marking papers…

  4. Petty Witter says:

    Ah so that is how you know you are reading a cosy!

  5. seana says:

    I loved reading the Charles Paris mysteries some years ago. I remember this one because it took his life as an always struggling actor into an unexpected sphere.

  6. Kelly says:

    I’m laughing about that last paragraph and Tracy’s comment! Definitely a cozy if something that gruesome produces no blood!!

  7. Margaret: interruptions? If only…
    Clarissa: an unusual murder weapon, isn´t it?
    Margot: it is the first Charles Paris story I have read, but I think I will have to read more of them.
    Tracy: glad I could teach you how to spot them😉
    Seana: it was also a rather different environment for me.
    Kelly: I didn´t go back and check it, but it was a pretty bloodless crime🙂

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    haven’t read one of his in a while.

  9. Beth F says:

    I really should give this series a try. I’ve been reading his Feathering mysteries, which I really enjoy. I have no problem with the blood and guts of the grittier mysteries but cozies are my favorites.

  10. Death by forklift. I’ve driven one before – I can see it happening.

  11. I think it would be even better if only the bad guys get killed in a cozy. Sounds like an interesting British mystery though.

  12. Patti: I have a couple on my shelf – fine for total relaxation.
    Beth: what I want to read depends on my energy level. Some days cosies are perfect, other days I also prefer something that is a bit more serious.
    Diane: yes, indeed! I worked as a farm hand once – several possibilities of accidents occurring there😉
    Harvee: she is not a bad guy but she may not exactly be a good girl either😉

  13. Barbara says:

    I’m wondering if it’s difficult marking students’ essays when you are such a talented writer yourself. But it must be wonderful when you find a student who has a flair for writing.

  14. Barbara: what a kind comment🙂
    But our students do not write creative essays; they train analysing literature or non-fiction so the skills they need are very different. Yet it is always a pleasure when they write their second language well – and many of them do.

Leave a Reply

