It´s Sweden´s Day # 1

Many of you have told me that you enjoy my Thursday meme: Thy´s Day. I hope you will also like this one: Sweden´s Day. As I told you recently, I plan to publish my first Scandinavian crime novel very soon, and though the main story is set in Denmark, there is an old thread which takes place in Sweden around World War I.

So for some time, my weekly picture will be from a combined holiday/research trip to the southern part of Sweden.

I hope you can spot the gargoyle.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Sweden´s Day, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to It´s Sweden´s Day # 1

  1. I love gargoyles! That’s what’s wrong with the States…not enough gargoyles.🙂 (Or even, really, *any* gargoyles! Except some I saw this summer on the Biltmore House).

  2. Norman says:

    We may be broke and broken but gargoyles, are something we do have in England.

  3. I love the Gargoyles–so haunting and full of history. Beautiful pics!

  4. Kelly says:

    Oh, I’m going to like this! Beautiful photos!!

  5. Dorte – What a great idea! Thanks for doing this! And I think the gargoyles are fabulous. You really are a talented photographer.

  6. Ann says:

    You have such lovely pictures on your blog.
    Ann

  7. Petty Witter says:

    Wonderful pictures though try as I might I couldn’t spot the gargoyle.

  8. Elizabeth: not many around here either which is why I made sure to get this one.
    Norman: I know, your churches are very different from ours. Thanks for the picture you sent.
    Clarissa: I am sure they would be great in a story of some kind, but my mind is filled with work these days.
    Kelly: I thought you would.
    Ann: thank you. I have been inspired by some excellent bloggers.
    Tracy: here is a link which shows you several different types. Perhaps that will help:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gargoyle

  9. I’m a quarter Dane, so the Denmark aspect definitely intrigues me.
    And I’m sorry it took me a while to get to your blog. Your WordPress blog is not listed in your Blogger/Google profile. Had to come back a second time and continue clicking to find it.

  10. Diane: oh, sorry about that. But I have had some technical problems when I tried to comment everywhere using my WordPress profile so that is why I tend to choose the lazy way out.

  11. Philip Young says:

    I am trying to decide where this is – looks familiar and I think it is a city, not a village…

    Martin Beck turned to look at an unusually pretty whitewashed church. Allwright followed his gaze.
    “Dalköpinge,” he said. “If you’re interested in picturesque churches, I can supply at least thirty of them. In the whole district, of course.” http://publicsphere.typepad.com/toberead/2010/08/martin-beck-in-skane-dalkopinge-.html

  12. Philip: I am not even sure. We took these photos in 2004😉

  13. kathy d. says:

    Gargoyles — lots of them on buildings in New York. One has to search them out, but they are here. A relative of mine, who unfortunately passed away recently, collected them, had many up on her high brick walls in her huge living room.

  14. Kathy: New York? I had no idea about that. This one was difficult to catch because of the distance (and I think it was with my husband´s old camera). I love catching details of buildings etc, that is often more interesting than selecting the whole building.

  15. kathy d. says:

    There are a lot of old buildings with stone facades, brownstones and others, lots of gray stone buildings. If one wanders around the wealthy Upper East Side or even the Upper West Side, one can see gargoyles on old big apartment buildings or brownstones.
    Around 34th Street where Macy’s and other department stores, if one is high up, one can see gargoyles across the street outside of buildings on high floors.
    It was an art, a craft for stonemasons and other artists to make them. Don’t hear of people doing it now, but if I did a Google search, I’d probably find some artisans who still make them.

  16. Amanda Mac says:

    Love the pics. It just whets my appetite for my trip to Scandinavia at the end of the year. Keep posting the pics and can’t wait to tell my book club about your new upcoming novel. We love the Scandinavian crime in our group!

  17. Pingback: It´s Sweden´s Day # 2 | djskrimiblog

  18. Amanda: what a kind comment, but I´ll have to translate it first. It goes out in Danish soon, and if it sells reasonably well, I´ll try to translate it before too long.
    I hope you´ll enjoy your trip to Scandinavia.

  19. kathy d. says:

    http://www.gargoylesofnewyork.com/ to find some nice, old New York gargoyles.

  20. Pingback: This Beautiful Gargoyle

Leave a Reply

