Brian McGilloway, The Rising (2010)

The fourth Irish Inspector Devlin mystery.

“To my immediate right something moved. I approached, squinting against the glare, my throat already burning with the heat of the smoke that had made it through the covering of my jacket. An old man, his nightshirt pulled over his mouth, lay against the wall of the second stall. His shirt was streaked with blackness, his back shuddering as he coughed onto the ground.”

Inspector Ben Devlin is called out to a fire in the middle of the night. Even though he risks his own life, the old man dies in hospital, and he does not succeed in saving a young man who was also present either.

Soon after a teenage boy disappears, and as his mother is Caroline Williams, Devlin´s former colleague, he is deeply involved in this case which may be related to first one.

Rumour has it that a paramilitary group, The Rising, is involved in a campaign against drug dealing in the local community, and for some time the story looks like an ordinary drug-dealer battle over turf, but of course McGilloway has several surprises up his sleave – for the reader, but also for Ben Devlin.

I enjoyed the story very much, for the fine plot but also for the main character and the special setting in the borderland area. Thank you to Maxine who sent her ARC on to me.

Read for the Ireland Reading Challenge # 6

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in 2011 Ireland Reading Challenge, Brian McGilloway, Irish, review, review 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Brian McGilloway, The Rising (2010)

  1. Jose Ignacio says:

    I’m glad you like Dorte, another one into my wishlist.

  2. Sounds like an intriguing plot! I haven’t read this series…I’ll look for it.

  3. Barbara says:

    This does sound very good. I’m going to keep my eye out for it too. (Now there’s an interesting expression! Why would one keep an eye out? Yuck.)

  4. Kelly says:

    This is a series I keep thinking I need to begin. I have the first on my wishlist at Amazon.

  5. Elizabeth: very fine characters and sense of place so I am sure you´ll like it.
    Barbara: haha. Some metaphors are rather nasty, aren´t they?
    Kelly: I think you´ll enjoy it nearly as much as Bolton´s brilliant books.

  6. José: I recommend his series strongly!

  7. Sounds like a lovely series. I should look into the first of his.

  8. Sounds like a great book. Thanks!

  9. Dorte – Oh, this does look good! I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t sampled much of the Devlin series yet. I really need to give that series a try, and your recommendation is just the kick I need to do it🙂.

  10. Clarissa: it is!
    Jennifer: nice to meet you here. It is a really fine book.
    Margot: those Irish series are ever so tempting.

  11. kathy d. says:

    Oh, gosh! If I could only get out of Scandinavia! Every time I read a book, I end up back there. I must return to the land of my family’s — half, anyway — birth and read this series, or start with the first one and see how it goes.
    Really: we need weeks off to read, a 36-hour day, a clone — one to read. And the nerve of folks who asked me to DO THINGS in the last week when my TBR pile looked so good. And the library finally got in a few books on my list, although Yrsa’s, A. Larsson’s and A. Holt’s latest books are not in the system.
    I have read good reviews of this series so I should try it — after I finish a few more other books.

  12. Pingback: The Challenges of a Reader | djskrimiblog

Leave a Reply

