It´s Sweden´s Day # 2

Why Sweden´s Day? Look here. And nothing can be more Swedish than the red house above.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Sweden´s Day. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It´s Sweden´s Day # 2

  1. Philip Young says:

    I remember one of the first times I went to Sweden I rented a stuga way into the forest beyond Laholm. The owner sent careful explanation which ended ‘it is the red house on the left.’ From an uninformed UK perspective this seemed precise and helpful.

    It was only when I got there, that I realised every house was red and that I was no nearer to finding my destination than if they told me “It’s the one with the roof…”

  2. I love the house and the little goat! I’m enjoying this photo series, Dorte.🙂

  3. kathy d. says:

    It’s a very nice photo. I have been noticing the red houses, which must be constructed with wooden plants painted red. Is that it? Here in New York, I’ve only seen red houses when they’re made out of brick, spent my teen-age years in a red brick attached house with a tiny yard.
    And I love the goat, who is chained up like a dog, so he’s a pet. Very cute.

  4. Norman says:

    Thanks for these lovely photos. Unfortunately all my trips to Scandinavia were in the winter so I have few photos as my fingers or the camera froze!

  5. Kelly says:

    Love the goat!! I sometimes miss our goats…sort of.

    I’m enjoying this new series.🙂

  6. Barbara says:

    What a kid! I love him.

  7. Philip: what a wonderful anecdote😀
    Elizabeth: I am doing my best to create a demand😉
    Kathy: yes, wood and the colour that is called Falu red or Falun red http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Falu_red

    Norman: poor you! I have only spent summer holidays there. Not necessarily warm, but not exactly freezing either😉

    Kelly and Barbara: I think I have another goat – must remember to make you two happy again.

  8. Dorte – Oh, those are such lovely ‘photos!! I haven’t yet had the privilege of visiting Sweden, but your wonderful ‘photos make me feel I’m there. And what stories could be told about that red house!!!!

  9. Belle Wong says:

    I loved Philip’s comment! These are beautiful pictures, Dorte.

  10. Margot: I am not sure it is exactly *this* house, but I have written the novel about the girl who grew up in the red house😉

    Belle: yes, Philip´s story is hilarious. And thank you; I am happy that people like my new feature.

  11. Beth F says:

    Oh you know how much I love these photos.

  12. Beth: yes. Just as much as I love yours🙂

  13. kathy d. says:

    I should add that in the U.S. barns are traditionally painted red — wooden barns. And there are wonderful photos and postcards of rural scenes in New England or in the Midwest, and other areas, where a big red barn with white trim will stand out during the summer amid grass or in winter surrounded by snow. It is a part of “Americana.”

Leave a Reply

