Guess who…

A quotation from my current read:

“When he took his jacket off and dropped it over the back of a chair it was like a Bedouin pitching camp. He had a big head, greying now; big eyes, short-sighted, but losing nothing of their penetrating force behind a pair of solid-framed spectacles; and he blew his big nose into a khaki handkerchief a foot-and-a-half square.”

Probably far too easy for my bright readers, but if you know, please leave a hint while I am busy elsewhere.

 

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in quotation. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Guess who…

  1. oooh I think I know this one….um the character’s surname isn’t pronounced as you might imagine from reading it

  2. Jose Ignacio says:

    It seems to me that this is the first published book of a prolific author and his first book in his series featuring…… Will be interested to read your opinion.

  3. Don’t know it…but what a great character description!

  4. Kerrie says:

    I had to go searching and found that it is indeed from the first book of a much loved author whose books have become the basis of a very popular TV series featuring D & P. I didn’t realise D was meant to wear glasses!

  5. Dorte – If I’m right, this character and his partner have become two of the beloved characters in crime fiction – even he is rather boorish. We love ‘im anyway!

  6. Dorte H says:

    As I said, this one is far too easy for you clever guys, but I am glad you enjoy playing along.

    Elizabeth: obviously I wouldn´t have known either if I hadn´t grabbed this book yesterday😉
    And I also fell for this description immediately.

  7. Kelly says:

    Well, I must not be too clever since it doesn’t ring a bell for me. I bet I’ll know it when you tell us, though.

  8. Patti Abbott says:

    You know funny you should mention this. I was listening to an audio book of one of the series and was quite surprised at the pronunciation. I had read it, but never heard it.

  9. Karen says:

    The younger one is this chap’s amanuensis? (I heard this in the tv series and it stuck!)

  10. Dorte H says:

    Kelly: I suspect the Brits have an advantage …😉
    Patti: I have watched some episodes on TV so I knew about the pronunciation, but I am glad to hear Danes are not the only ones who are puzzled.

  11. Dorte H says:

    Karen: yes, exactly! I also noticed that word🙂

  12. Petty Witter says:

    Do we have an advantage? Certainly this Brit is at a loss. Wonderfully descriptive though, I love this character already.

  13. Beth F says:

    I had to look it up. I had no idea. But I do love the quote.

  14. Pingback: Reginald Hill, A Clubbable Woman (1970) | djskrimiblog

Leave a Reply

