Guess who…

Two teasers about the protagonist of my next review:

“Fifteen years and all he had to show were an amount of self-pity and a busted marriage with an innocent daughter hanging between them. It was more disgusting than sad.”

“Often he declined invitations, because to accept meant that he had to dust off his brogues, iron a shirt, brush down his best suit, take a bath, and splash on some cologne. He had also to be affable, to drink and be merry, to talk to strangers with whom he had no inclination to talk and with whom he was not being paid to talk.”

Perhaps not quite as easy as last week´s quotation, but if you know, please leave a hint.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in quotation. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Guess who…

  1. Jose Ignacio says:

    The first in a great series.

  2. I think I can guess based on some of the words, if I’m right it’s a series set at the opposite latitude to my home town (we’re 55 degrees S while they’re 55 degrees N) I could never get into this series despite quite wanting to – I think it’s because I saw the TV version first and didn’t like it at all – I found it impossible to read the books after that

  3. KerrieS says:

    The title of this book is a “play” on a popular game that you play with pencil and paper. There’s a free iPhone/android app you can download which gives 30 key locations in his home city (often described as the ‘Athens of the North’) that appear in the author’s books.

  4. Dorte – If I’m right, this protagonist has a whooole lot of trouble with anger management…

  5. Oh lord, I have no clue. But, can’t wait to find out.

  6. Patti Abbott says:

    This sounds like about half the protagonists out there. Bad marriage, gruff, anger management issues. Wouldn’t it be swell to have one with a happy marriage and a jolly disposition. Even female cops seem to fit this description.

  7. Bill Selnes says:

    Dorte: After reading the clues left by other commentators I believe I know the identity but, as Patti says, the self-description in the quote covers a huge range of sleuths.

  8. Kelly says:

    Again, I have no idea…even after reading all the clues left in the comments!

  9. Joanne says:

    I like what you’ve quoted, and though I haven’t a clue, I remain intrigued!

  10. Dorte H says:

    Max points to those of you who guessed.
    Bernadette: I believe you are right but checking up on latitudes feels too much like work😉

    Patti and Bill: as you say, this could be anybody😉

    Tomorrow: a short review (I have been very busy translating “Anna Märklin” today).

  11. I can’t guess but am eager to find out…

  12. kathy d. says:

    Guido Brunetti, of Donna Leon’s books, is happily married, intends to stay with his spouse for the rest of his life. However, jolly is not a characteristic we would associate with him. Calm, determined, a hard worker, thoughtful, even-tempered, a reader of Roman and Greek classics, yes. And a family person, too. But never jolly, more serious, but a well-balanced person.
    And I don’t have a clue who this book features, but am eager to find out.

  13. Pingback: Ian Rankin, Knots and Crosses (1987) | djskrimiblog

  14. Dorte H says:

    Tada, no need to tear your hair out, Kathy and Harvee – here we go🙂

Leave a Reply

