Christmas in Knavesborough

Cover photo: Ellen Nielsen

I don´t know why I seem to get all my ideas, good and otherwise, late at night, but I always do. This time my racing brain came up with the idea of a collection of Christmas stories from Knavesborough.

Those of you who have followed my blog for a long time know two of the stories already, “End of Christmas” from 2009 when poor Constable Penrose tried to solve the murder of Santa, and “Christmas Toffee” from last year about the eccentric writer who hides in Knavesborough.

The third story “Christmas in the Old Vicarage” is a Danish story I intend to change into a story about the Gershwin family – Rhapsody and her sisters as teenagers.

I intend to make it very clear to potential buyers that the two stories are part of “Candied Crime”, but don´t you think it would be a good idea to take that collection down in December to avoid confusion?

It is not all Amazon customers who are as clever as my blog readers, you know😉

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Gershwin & Penrose, publication, short story. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Christmas in Knavesborough

  1. Dorte – I like your idea of a collection of themed stories. And your Knavesborough characters are terrific! And it’s certainly up to you about whether to take Candied Crime down if you wish, but since the two collections have different names, I’m not sure there would be confusion. Maybe that’s just I, though.

  2. Love the Christmas collection idea! Love Knavesborough characters. If your description includes the statement that it includes Christmas-themed items previously published in Candied Crime I see no issue. I wouldn’t take Candied Crime off the market. I have a trilogy that is also published as 3 standalone novels. Take a look at my Smashwords descriptions for Intersections: Love, Betrayal Murder; Where is Harry?, Claire: A Woman’s Journey; and Richard: It’s In the Blood to see how I covered that.

  3. Kelly says:

    I love the thought of a Christmas collection! As long as you state in the description that two of the stories previously appeared in Candied Crime, I don’t see the need to take it down.

  4. Margot: thank you. I hope it won´t confuse anyone, but seeing that there are reviewers who will complain about free short stories being too short you never know …😉

    Linda: I wondered if English readers would point out that the picture is Swedish. I hope it doesn´t disturb anyone´s expectations, but I have to be quick in order to have these stories out in December…

    Kelly: I am glad you see it that way. “Candied Crime” is free right now, and it seems that free stories encourage people to buy “The Cosy Knave”.

  5. Barbara says:

    This is a terrific idea and I do like the cover. Don’t take down “Candied Crime.” If they’re confused, so be it. They’ll just get a double dose of wonderful Knavesborough.🙂

Leave a Reply

