Writing Cats and Dogs

Surprise, surprise; I haven´t finished reading the book for that review you are all waiting for.

Yesterday I finished the draft of my English version of “Christmas in Knavesborough” and sent it off to a beta-reader.

Today I have translated or rewritten three of the stories in Danish. I think it is quite funny that I can stare at a word like ´deluded´ for a long time, struggling to remember what it means, as I realize I must have written it myself in the first place. I kept thinking ´diluted´ – but of course no one wants diluted Christmas stories.

I have made sure to include a cat and a dog for the benefit of several of you. It is funny to see how many of your comments that show if you are cat or dog people.

Do you remember Toffee´s Christmas?

“Every day she made up her face as carefully as always, she did her white hair and put on her tailored, pink coat before she went out to walk Tweedledee, her snow white Pekinese. But invariably, her new neighbours would pay more attention to Tweedle than to herself. Especially the cat which glared as if it wanted to pounce on her poor little doggie. And she had a creepy feeling that its blind owner was poking fun at her.”

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writing Cats and Dogs

  1. Looking forward to the translated book! I usually put cats or dogs in, too.🙂 Can’t be a bad thing, right?

    I can zone out looking at words sometimes, too. And I don’t think I have an excuse! I’ll do it with my native tongue.🙂

  2. Petty Witter says:

    looking forward to hearing more of Christmas in Knavesborough, I adore the cover by the way, very seasonal.

  3. Petty Witter says:

    A bit off topic, apologies for that, but I just had to let you know about a book I’ve not long read. Thinking of you all the way through, I thought Dorte would enjoy this book as its setting and characters struck me as being just your cup of tea.

    http://pettywitter.blogspot.com/2011/11/burry-mans-day.html

  4. Elizabeth: no, pets belong in cosies – but I´m not ready to let them have all the limelight🙂

    Tracy: hope to have it up soon. And good reviews are never off topic🙂

  5. Pingback: Fantasy Will Set You Free* | Confessions of a Mystery Novelist…

  6. Care says:

    I’m a dog person! but I like the kitties, too. And no, I don’t know Toffee’s Christmas.
    I like the bit about deluded vs diluted. 🙂

Leave a Reply

