Clare Langley-Hawthorne, Consequences of Sin (2007)

[Have run into one of my marathon headaches so no blog round this weekend, but here is a short review of my latest, very enjoyable find]

I won the book a year or two ago. As it is an Edwardian mystery I have no idea why I have left it to gather dust on my TBR for so long. The writer´s debut and the first Ursula Marlow mystery is set in London though Ursula leaves her home city for part of the story.

“I had to call. Didn´t know who else to turn to… It´s all frightfully shocking. I don´t even know if I can tell you. It´s just that there´s somebody here – here in my room – and, Sully – I think she´s dead.”

Ursula´s feminist friend Winifred finds a body in her bedroom; Ursula knows she is the only one who can help her because of her wealthy father´s position, but to do so she must ask Lord Wrotham, her father´s attorney for help, and the reader senses that by doing this she is playing with fire. Ursula has learnt a lot from her new friends, e.g. her aversion to owing anything to a man.

As Winifred is not only a suffragette, but also a homosexual with a record of violence, the police suspect her immediately, of course. But Ursula cannot see her friend as a murderer, and she realizes that there are also other people in their London circles who have old secrets in the closets.

I was intrigued by the female protagonist and the environment immediately. Strongly recommended for lovers of historical mystery. The writer grew up in England and Australia, but lives in California today.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in British, Clare Langley-Hawthorne, review, review 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Clare Langley-Hawthorne, Consequences of Sin (2007)

  1. Dorte – Oh, not only an interesting plot and set of characters, but a good historical mystery, too! OK, you have once again added to my TBR list! I hope you’re happy!😉. Seriously, though, this sounds like a terrific read.

  2. Barbara says:

    I met her at a conference, once – charming person. I should look this up.

  3. Kelly says:

    I do love Historical Mysteries, so this one must be for me.🙂

    I’m sorry for your headache and hope it passes very soon. You might be interested to know I read Winter’s Bone recently for the What’s in a Name Challenge and enjoyed it. One of many I picked up thanks to reading your blog.

  4. Norman says:

    Dorte, I hope you are feeling better.

  5. KerrieS says:

    Glad you enjoyed it Dorte. Hope your headache clears up soon

  6. Petty Witter says:

    A sufferer of marathon headaches myself you have my sympathy – hope you are feeling better soon.

  7. Patti Abbott says:

    Dorte-May I link to this on Friday. Sounds good.

  8. Margot: Ursula is a strong, feminie protagonist from a period when women were not supposed to be. I´m sure you will also enjoy that aspect.
    Barbara: I can imagine she must be an interesting person.
    Kelly: good to hear that at least you enjoy the books I tempt you into buying. “Winter´s Bone” was sinister, but terrific.
    Norman: thank you. After a very quiet Sunday, my head is as good as it can be again🙂
    Kerrie: she is a fine writer. And I´ll leave it to my readers to decide whose she is😉
    Traci: I know that you understand. Today is so much better, thank you.
    Patti: you are always welcome to link to my posts.

  9. Paula Meengs says:

    The writer has returned to Australia, but that hasn’t stopped her book production. She has just finished a book as she says in this blog post. She blogs weekly here at The Kill Zone.
    http://killzoneauthors.blogspot.com/2012/01/resistance-is-futile.html

  10. Paula: thank you for telling me. I´m sure my Australian readers are proud to claim her as theirs🙂

  11. Belle Wong says:

    I don’t normally read a lot of historical fiction, but perhaps its time I investigated more historical mysteries. Will have to keep my eye out for this one.

  12. Belle: this one does not go that far back. I always find it easier to enjoy books when I can relate to the characters.

Leave a Reply

