Time for a story???

I have some characters who want me to tell their story, but I am afraid my imagination is a bit slow.

Please help us by telling me what you want me to put in my next short story. As usual, I will include as many ideas as I possibly can.

On behalf of Hepplewhite, Chesterfield, Chippendale, Sheraton and William Morris.

 

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Time for a story???

  1. Petty Witter says:

    A long story that I won’t bore you with BUT I’d love for you to include an eccentric vicar.

  2. Kelly says:

    Can you include a castle that has a hedge maze (labrynth) and maybe an aviary on the grounds?

    I love the theme you’ve chosen for the names!!

  3. Belle Wong says:

    I’ve been wanting to write and read mysteries that involve food, so here’s one for you: clotted cream.

  4. lrbauthor says:

    Sounds to me like someone needs to open up an antique store where strange things happen and someone is stealing merchandise or smuggling in it or ….?

  5. Poly says:

    Sounds like someone father a child and the mum will go to ANY length to hide it!!
    But, then someone founds out, and the price for the silence is more than one!!!
    Until the mum found out that this blackmailer also has hidden issue,
    … and then a very dark secret is slowly surfacing!!
    The interconnection goes on, for in those country town, there is always someone,
    that notice a tiny little things…..

    Ha-ha!! Have fun!

  6. Tracy: vicars are always eccentric, aren´t they?😉
    Kelly: yes, and they have brilliant names, don´t they🙂
    Belle: ah, that wish should be a piece of cake😀
    Linda: antique store – doesn´t sound too difficult either.
    Poly: hm – well, dark secrets should also be easy, but let´s see….

  7. Poly says:

    Ha-ha, well that a pretty good sumerized start Dorte.

    So all there is for your now, is to start writting!
    Or perhaps you need more outlines, as I read in your interview!
    You need the story and plot in your head, before you start!!

    If or since, that’s the case, we need further feedback from your “summerrize” in order for “us” to add further “hints”!🙂

  8. I’d like you to set your stories in and around Copenhagen, so that I learn more about your beautiful capital city, and the fabulous Øresund Bridge I’ve heard and read so much about.

  9. Prashant: ehm, I´d love to keep all my readers happy, but actually it sounds as if you know nearly as much about Copenhagen as I do. I haven´t even seen the Øresund Bridge in real life.

  10. Dorte – Oh, this will be great! I’m thinking it would be great to have a perfect house with that kind of furniture in it, but that is hiding an old skeleton – literally – in the basement. The owners of the house don’t know it’s there but that eccentric vicar does.

  11. Elisabeth: why is it young daughters come with such a great memory?

    Margot: ehm, I have already written half the story, but I hope you´ll be satisfied with my hiding place.

  12. Amanda Mac says:

    So I am intrigued as to whether the story will be set in England or Denmark. I think it would be difficult to construct a complete story about the øresund bridge, but the villages surrounding it, especially Dragør would be much easier. There is so much atmosphere near, and you can look over to the øresund bridge. I look forward to one day reading this story Dorthe!

  13. Amanda: you´ll see about the setting, but as I have lived in Jutland nearly all my life, it would be fairly difficult for me to write an Øresund story – people would expect the setting to be correct, whereas they seem to accept my English settings are fictional🙂

  14. Pingback: The Charity Shop, part I | djskrimiblog

  15. Interesting that it is ok for Englad to be fictional. What does that say about people’s concept of England. (hehe!) I see now the story is set in England, of course!

  16. Forestwood: weeell, I have noticed that Americans seem to like my make-believe England, but really it was a matter of creating a fictional village or pretending I knew anything about Copenhagen (which I don´t). We lived outside the capital for a short period nearly 30 years ago🙂

Leave a Reply

