Quentin Bates, Frozen Out (2011)

This police procedural by a British writer, Icelandic setting, is the first Gunnhildur Gisladottir mystery.

I have wanted to read this series since I met Quentin Bates during CrimeFest last year, but as you know, I have tried hard to tame my TBR.

“He braced one booted foot on the heavy timber parapet running the length of the quay, and quickly straightened his back as he tipped the passenger headlong into the blackness below.”

So though the death in the first chapter looks like a drowning accident, the reader knows someone helped the drunk man along, and we sympathize with Gunna who has to convince her boss that there is a case.

I enjoyed the story very much even though financial crime is not exactly my favourite plot. Gunna is of the less-than-perfect but perfectly likeable protagonist type. So this debut is not quite Arnaldur Indridason or Yrsa Sigurdardottir yet, but if you like their series and the Icelandic setting, I am sure you will enjoy meeting Gunna,  her team and her little family.

I bought the ebook myself, and I am looking forward to the next volumes.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in British, Icelandic, Quentin Bates, review, review 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Quentin Bates, Frozen Out (2011)

  1. Ann says:

    I haven’t heard of this so thanks for posting. The cover is very creepy.
    Ann

  2. Care says:

    Now THAT is quite a cover!

  3. Patti Abbott says:

    There is no hope of keeping up with the spate of novels coming from northern Europe. What happened there? Just looking at that cover gives me claustrophobia.

  4. Dorte – I’m so glad you liked this one! I agree – Bates has solid skills and I look forward to more from him, too.

  5. Ann, Care & Patti: it´s funny because as this one is an ebook I haven´t noticed the cover very much, but I can assure you it is much more claustrophobic than the book. It is exciting, but not full of graphic violence or any nightmare scenes.

    Margot: I expected to like it, and I certainly did🙂

  6. Kelly says:

    It’s not an author I’m familiar with and I’m not sure financial crime appeals to me, either. I’ll wait on this since even my wish list is now getting unmanagable!

  7. kathy d. says:

    Financial crime does appeal to me. I was on the fence about getting this book, but your review has pushed me over to the “yes, I will read it” side.
    Also, just read your comment at Crime Scraps about Nina Borg in The Boy in the Suitcase. I just wanted to let you know that you are not alone in liking her character. I like her, too. She’s a complicated, flawed person, like many millions out there trying to make it in the world. That she was brave and took care of the child, risking her life, makes her a good person. That she can’t deal every day with her own family makes her interesting, yet complex. It makes the readers want to know more about her backstory and experiences, to understand why she is that way. But if she is a hero in the series, fine with me. And, hopefully, we’ll find out about her history.
    I couldn’t put that book down. I was riveted. Cannot wait for the next. And meanwhile, I’ll put Quentin Bates’ book on library reserve.
    I admit I hadn’t been checking in at your blog because I thought you weren’t going to post too often due to other work, so to my own dismay I’ve found I missed posts. However, now happily I can catch up.

  8. Joanne says:

    Sounds very good.

  9. Kelly: somehow that problems sounds terribly familiar to me.
    Kathy: I think you´ll like Frozen Out; it is a fine debut. And I am glad I am not the only one who couldn´t resist Nina Borg, the unlikely heroine🙂 I can understand her husband is exaspirated, but sometimes it is just easier to attack other people´s problems.

Leave a Reply

