Taking the Paper Plunge

I don´t know why I have been a writer for more than a year without even considering paper books. Or to be precise, I have just rejected the idea because I was sure it would be too complicated for someone living in Denmark to sell paper books all over the world.

But Sunday afternoon I finally felt like checking out the possibilities. Just testing CreateSpace and just playing around with their cover creator etc. because I thought it would be a good idea to have a paper version of “Anna Märklin” as well as the e-book. I think I must have pushed a wrong button at some time, however, because this morning CreateSpace sent me the following message:

Congratulations your files are printable!

So if anyone should feel like splashing out $ 7.99 for a cosy Yorkshire mystery, “The Cosy Knave” is now available in good old paper format.

And thank you to my technical agony aunt, Linda Rae Blair, for your help with the cover and several other questions.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in cozy mystery, publication, The Cosy Knave. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Taking the Paper Plunge

  1. Kelly says:

    How fun that it’s available now in paper! I quite like the cover. Good job!

  2. Dorte H says:

    Thank you.
    “Blame” Tracy; she kept asking me if my books would also be available in paper🙂

  3. Petty Witter says:

    YEAH!!!!!!!! AT LAST.

  4. Dorte H says:

    Tracy: I´m so glad you like it. I did think of you when I decided to check out the possibilities🙂

  5. Ann says:

    Good for you. I always have my books available in print form especially as I often participate in author panels and it’s good to have a few books available. Also, it helps to use the cover creator and use that for the picture on the e-book.

  6. Dorte H says:

    Ann: I hope it will be good for me. But with 90 % of my readers in the US, it´s not as if I´m invited to participate in author panels very often😀

  7. Heather says:

    This is exciting news. amazing what the finger slips can create.

  8. Heather: yes, isn´t it? And it seems as if someone else´s finger has slipped as well because now I have even sold one😉

  9. I’m pleasantly surprised to learn I can buy The Cosy Knave for just $7.99 in paper form. CreateSpace has changed my mind about the economics of self publishing. I was pretty much convinced any author who wants to self publish HAD to go the eBook route exlusively.

    Most importantly — congratulations!

Leave a Reply

