Review policy

For my faithful readers: I plan to blog occasionally again – probably a couple of times a week. Two or three reviews per months, plus occasional photos from my part of the world and news about my own writings, for example quotations and reviews.

To avoid the conflict of interests which was one of the reasons why I stopped reviewing crime fiction, I have updated my review polity.

REVIEW POLICY

1. Please do not send me unsolicited review copies. Not that I mind free books, but I am a cranky, old mood reader who does not want any obligations.

2. I will review whatever I want – whenever I want.

3. I ‘know’ plenty of crime writers from social media. If the writer is a friend of mine, I will tell you so. I’ll only finish and review their books if I enjoy them, but it is up to you to determine if you think my review is objective or not.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in review, review 2014, review policy. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Review policy

  1. I am so looking forward to reading your reviews and posts again, Dorte!🙂

  2. Jose Ignacio says:

    Ditto, Dorte. I look forward to your reviews,

  3. Kelly says:

    I’m glad to see this as I always loved the photos you shared! I also love #2 in your review policy. 😉

    I only posted two reviews out of almost 100 books read last year. It was so freeing not to feel pressured. I’ve reviewed a few more this year, but – like your #2 – only if and when I wanted.

  4. Dorte, I like your review policy, especially point No.2, The freedom to read is what I value most.

  5. I am such a privileged blogger because I *know* that even after years of near-silence I will be able to return – and some of you will still be here, waiting for me.
    That means the world to me!
    I had hoped to be able to review a novel today or tomorrow, but I was away from home yesterday and have to pay for it with a headache today…😦

  6. Karen Russell says:

    So glad you’re back! I’ve had a hard time keeping up on blogs but now that summer vacation is here, I’m looking forward to catching up with everyone.🙂

Leave a Reply

