Mary Anne Evans, Artifacts

artifacts

***

ARTIFACTS is the first Faye Longchamp mystery, published in 2011. As far as I remember, I got the Kindle book for free.

The setting is an old plantation along the Florida coast, and the main character, Faye Longchamp, is a keen but penniless archaeologist who has to cut corners all the time to make ends meet.

“Faye Longchamp was digging like a pothunter, and she hated herself for it. Pothunters were a bare notch above grave robbers. They were vultures. Once a pothunter defiled an ancient site, archaeologists could only hope to salvage a fraction of the information it had once held. And information, not artifacts, was the goal of legitimate archaeology.”

I liked the unusual setting and the main character, but to be honest, I think the pace was fairly slow. If you want excitement and speed, this one is not for you. Seeing that it was the first in the series, I may try some of the later volumes, however.

 

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in American, review, review 2014, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mary Anne Evans, Artifacts

  1. So good to see you reviewing again, Dorte. The setting for this one sounds appealing to me, too. I may try it next time I’m looking for a slower pace.

  2. Dorte, I don’t mind the slow pace of a novel provided the story is interesting. Since I started reading vintage books I have sort of got used to the leisurely pace and the gentle atmosphere.

  3. Claire Duffy says:

    Hmm that paragraph is intriguing, though I have to confess I enjoy my thrillers pacey! Maybe an add to the to-read list, but not too high😉

  4. Margot and Prashant: I think you two will like it🙂
    Claire: good to see a new reader here. I can understand that you hesitate as my review must sound a bit irresolute. I may give her a second chance as I know that many writers develop a lot, but I won’t rush out and buy the next one.

  5. Kelly says:

    I really don’t mind a slower pace as long as the story holds my interest, and I’ll usually always give the second in a series a chance if I’m fairly satisfied with the first. Sometimes it takes a book or two for the regular characters to reach their full potential.

  6. Kelly: I agree that several series improve after a quiet start. And who am I to speak; my own mysteries are often regarded as VERY slow😉

  7. Yeah, I’m not sure the slow pace would appeal to me either.

Leave a Reply

