Helen Grant, The Glass Demon (2011)

I began reading this novel before our holiday in Norway and went back to it afterwards. So with my short memory span, it is difficult to come up with a good review.

(Excellent excuse, wasn’t it?)

So here is the first part of the blurb:
Sometimes the path to the truth is paved with broken glass. 

Teenager Lin Fox is a stranger in a strange land—Germany, where her father has come on a quixotic quest to locate a priceless artifact. The medieval (and possibly mythical) Allerheiligen stained glass is believed by some to be lost, by others to have been destroyed, and by virtually all to be haunted. A mysterious letter persuades Dr. Oliver Fox that he can be the one to find it—but someone else is determined to ensure that the glass stays hidden forever.

I enjoyed the book very much. Great characters, especially the main character, teenager Lin Fox. Do I like Lin? I am not so sure. Sometimes you feel like slapping her, on the next page you want to hug her. Definitely a very real teenage girl.

The German setting is great. Without a doubt the writer knows her environment, and she has added a layer of sinister darkness I do not really recognize from holidays in that part of the world, but it certainly suits the story.

A well-written and intriguing mystery. Strongly recommended.

I bought the book myself, and the writer is a Facebook acquaintance.

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in British, Helen Grant, review, review 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Helen Grant, The Glass Demon (2011)

  1. Dorte – I”m glad you enjoyed this. It’s not easy to draw a teenage character effectively; I’m glad Lin is portrayed well. And I do like stories with a solid sense of place. Thanks for the review🙂

  2. Kelly says:

    I loved your description of the teenager – so true at times!

    I’ll keep this one in mind as it sounds quite good.

  3. I know just what you mean about a short memory span. If I don’t write about a book just after I’ve finished reading I really struggle and if I put a book down for a few days I have to do a lot of recapping, sometimes even starting it again!

    This one sounds good – I like searches and medieval/mythical elements to a plot.

  4. Dorte, novels revolving around medieval events, particularly a specific thing like stained glass, can be fascinating to read because of the conspiratorial setting where someone doesn’t want the truth to come out. “The Glass Demon” sounds interesting.

  5. I am glad I have tempted you – that’s what reviews are for😉

Leave a Reply

