She Never Came Home – Launch Party

Well, not so much party as a quick push of a button, but SHE NEVER CAME HOME is definitely out there (where else would she be, poor girl?) A short story of c 9,000 words or c 30 book pages.

A warm and heartfelt thank you to blog friends Margot and Amanda who helped me getting this one in proper shape. My British editor assures me the story was ‘highly polished’ before he set eyes on it. 

She never came home

I think this short story has quite a lot in common with my very first short story, Heather Farm. Young couple move to the countryside and find something in their new home which they hadn’t exactly bargained for. But my daughter assures me that this one is far from cosy. Apart from Alice and Peter, you are going to meet Foxy, their sweet little dog, and some rather uncanny dolls.

The blurb:

When Alice loses her job and her home, she is forced to move into an old farmhouse with her husband and her dog.  She is determined to make the most of the situation – until she starts to hear the voice of a young girl, and the sound of her singing in the middle of the night.  Should Alice follow her instinct and leave the farmhouse, or should she stay and find out what happened when the little girl disappeared without a trace forty years ago?

 

About Dorte Hummelshøj Jakobsen

I am a Danish teacher. In my spare time I read, write and review crime fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to She Never Came Home – Launch Party

  1. Congratulations, Dorte!! I wish you much success with this one.

  2. Kelly says:

    I like the cover and the premise sounds intriguing!

    You know you can count on me – it’s been downloaded to my Kindle. 😉

  3. Congratulations, Dorte! I absolutely enjoyed your short fiction, DING DONG BELL and GREEN ACRES, and I will have no hesitation in picking this up and reading it. I like the title — it’s loaded.

Leave a Reply

